Posted in Air, Autumn, Earth, Eastern Shore, Endings, Fire, Home, Nature, Photography, Spirit, Walking & Wandering

It’s electric

The last morning glory
Survivor

Is it a fact — or have I dreamt it — that, by means of electricity, the world of matter has become a great nerve, vibrating thousands of miles in a breathless point of time?

~ Nathaniel Hawthorne

The electricians are working on wiring up the kitchen today, bringing things up to code as well as installing new lighting and new outlets where needed.  The power will be out, probably for most of the day since this appears to be an all day job.  They are on a lunch break now and were able to leave me with some juice while they power up themselves with nourishment.  (Programming note:  If this post goes out looking as if I didn’t finish it, chances are good the Electric Guys came back early.)

Beauty in the rubbish
Beauty in the rubbish

The recent frosty nights have killed off most of the morning glories.  A couple of days ago, I found one vine still blooming,  It is snuggled up against the Weathervane Building where it enjoys both shelter and light.  Another vine has snaked out from there and is making its way through the trash piled by the Weathervane Building.

Seeking the light
Seeking the light

I feel very fortunate today.  The weather is amazing for an almost-November day, and I’ve been spending most of my time outdoors, staying out of the way of the experts while they do their work.

Grounded
Grounded

With all the work that needs to be done indoors, I usually don’t get to spend an entire day outside so it’s nice to have this day off.  I’ve done some bench sitting (and writing), walked a lot, and when I finish here I’m going to work in our little graveyard.  Dia de Muertos (Day of the Dead) is coming up soon,  I don’t have marigolds to decorate the the graves, but I can at least clean things up out there since there has been no evidence of the family member we were told comes by twice a year to care for the graves.  It’s best to keep the spirits of the place happy, don’t you think?

Trees near the entrance to the graveyard
Trees near the entrance to the graveyard

I’d better get moving and get this scheduled to go out before I run out of luck and time.  Thank you for stopping by.  I hope this day has brought you some unexpected good fortune, too.

Sunset in the marsh
Sunset in the marsh

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

14 thoughts on “It’s electric

  1. I, too, like to be out of the house when others are working in it. Sounds like you’ve still managed to be productive. By the way, the blue in that first morning glory is stunningly electric! Hope you have a lovely evening, as well!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Like

    1. I don’t worry too much about that, Jenna. Especially with these guys. They’ve been tracking drywall dust wherever they go. I can see their dusty boot prints wherever they go. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi. Cleaning up the graveyard is so pastoral and appropriate for this time of year. I have a pet cemetery I take care of. I chose the stones for their colour and pattern, a reminder of the colouration of each of our pets. Jane

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

