Posted in Autumn, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Friends, Hiking, Nature, Photography, Pond, Portals & Pathways, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Walktober, Water

Walktober

Pocomoke River State Park
The trail beckons.  Pocomoke River State Park.

Where does it start?  Muscles tense.  One leg a pillar, holding the body upright between the earth and sky.  The other a pendulum, swinging from behind.  Heel touches down.  The whole weight of the body rolls forward onto the ball of the foot.  The big toe pushes off, and the delicately balanced weight of the body shifts again.  The legs reverse position.  It starts with a step and then another step and then another that add up like taps on a drum to a rhythm, the rhythm of walking.

~ Rebecca Solnit, Wanderlust: A History of Walking

Keep walking
Keep walking

I’m currently reading Wanderlust: A History of Walking, and I thought the opening paragraph from the book was a good way to start off this post.  Walking is such a fascinating thing to me.  The way we manage to balance on two legs and propel ourselves forwards, backwards, or sideways, without falling down (generally) is amazing.  We take it for granted, I think, and look at it as something we simply do.  But if you watch a child learning to walk, you can see how complicated walking really is.  Fighting gravity is tough work, and requires evenness and tension between falling and staying upright.

On the Bald Cypress Trail.
On the Bald Cypress Trail.

Let’s get to our Walktober event, shall we?  Dawn over at Change Is Hard was the first to participate with her Walktober walk.  She decided on her favorite four-mile running route, but then changed her mind and decided to hike cross country in search of a pond and a windmill.  It was hard for me to pick a favorite part of Dawn’s walk.  She found lovely colors, a wooly bear, an old stone fence, and more.

Sometimes the trail is difficult to find.
Sometimes the trail is difficult to find.

Frank, from A Frank Angle, was next taking us On a Fall Walk through his neighborhood.  He found some beautiful color as well as some lovely roses, interesting human creations and decorations, and a stunning Japanese Maple.  Again, I had trouble picking a favorite because it was a wonderful walk.

Bathed in light.
Bathed in light.

On the other side of The Pond, Sallyann of Photographic Memories brought us along on a Secluded Saturday stroll with Little Sister and Eldest Daughter on some of the quiet streets of Oxford.  It is such a lovely walk, I’m not sure where to start.  I do know I’d love to spend some time sitting on one of the benches pictured through the gates of the church.  Or perhaps just wandering the cobblestone streets.

Subtle hints of color
Subtle hints of color

Thank you Dawn, Frank, and Sallyann for participating.  I thoroughly enjoyed being able to walk along with you in your part of the world.

A dogwood in the forest
A dogwood in the forest

Thank you all for stopping by today.  I do hope you clicked on the links and took a walk with Dawn, Frank, and Sallyann.  If not, what are you waiting for?  There’s not much else to see here.  It is cloudy, rainy, and chilly at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch today.  They say we might see some sunshine later.  Even so, the cold front that brought us rain (and brought snow to others in U.S.) will be causing the temperature to continue to drop. I’ll be bundling up for my walks over the next week or so.

Photos in this post, by the way, are from my Walktober walk at the Pocomoke River State Park this past Sunday.

Colorful reflections
Colorful reflections

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

A pond at Pocomoke River State Park.
A pond at Pocomoke River State Park.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

16 thoughts on “Walktober

    1. Thank you, Barbara. 🙂 I was going to write that Mother Nature makes it easy but to be honest, those are the hardest pictures for me to shoot because of the difference in the bright light and the shadows. It’s difficult not to over- or underexpose in uneven light, and I usually do one or the other. Digital allows me to shoot a lot of images just to get a few good ones. 😀

      Like

  1. Beautiful. I took some pictures yesterday at the park. It was cloudy and I don’t know if the colors will come out good or not. I’m trying to get back to a photo a day for my 365 project. I fell off the wagon when we had the wedding reception here for our son and daughter-in-law, and then spent a week in St. Louis this month. The daily challenge is really that—a challenge. Don’t know what I’ll do for today. . .

    I should have done your Walktober.

    Like

    1. It’s tough to keep up with daily challenges, Christine. I can’t even keep up with the regular daily stuff (case in point, I’m just now responding to comments from October of last year!).

      Like

  2. I’ve finally got as far as doing the rounds on your Walktober. Great walks again this year. 🙂
    And to think I almost missed it ! Give me a shout to remind me next year because I’ve no doubt I’ll be behing with catching up on my catching up. 🙂
    Thanks for being a wonderful host again. 😀

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

