Posted in Assateague Island, Autumn, Beach, Cycling, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Nature, Photography, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water

A ride to Assateague

An October day at the beach.  (Assateague Island State Park)
An October day at the beach. (Assateague Island State Park)

Bicycling is a big part of the future.  It has to be.  There’s something wrong with a society that drives a car to work out in a gym.

~ Bill Nye the Science Guy

Heading to Assategue.
Heading to Assategue.

Summer has temporarily returned to the Eastern Shore.  The temperature yesterday (and today) hovered around 90 here at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  Other places nearby got up to 92, breaking previous record highs.  In other words, it is a good weekend to spend at the beach.

October 2013 014a
Getting closer

Yesterday, M and I spent the morning working around the Wabi-Sabi Ranch before setting out to play on the beach.  It wasn’t discipline that kept us from going first thing in the morning.  It was the Sea Gull Century.

Riding in the heat
Riding in the heat

The Sea Gull Century, celebrating 25 years, is a 100-mile bike ride.  You have your choice of two 100-mile routes (the Assateague Century and the Snow Hill Century), or the short ride (the 62-mile Princess Anne Metric Ride).  According to the press release, the Sea Gull Century has grown from less than 100 participants to over 7,000 from all around the world, and is now considered one of the oldest and largest bike ride events on the East Coast.

In the shade
In the shade

M and I thought we’d avoid most of the cyclists if we waited until after lunch to make the drive to Assateague.  Assateague Island is the halfway point for the Assateague Century, and we figured most people would have gotten to that point by 2:00 pm.  I am sure we missed most of the bicycle traffic, but we still saw a lot of people cycling to and from Assateague Island on our way to the beach (and a lot of cyclists at the rest stop on Assateague Island).

A trio
A trio

I began to feel that myself plus the bicycle equaled myself plus the world, upon whose spinning wheel we must all learn to ride, or fall into the sluiceways of oblivion and despair.  That which made me succeed with the bicycle was precisely what had gained me a measure of success in life — it was the hardihood of spirit that led me to begin, the persistence of will that held me to my task, and the patience that was willing to begin again when the last stroke had failed.  And so I found high moral uses in the bicycle and can commend it as a teacher without pulpit or creed.  She who succeeds in gaining the mastery of the bicycle will gain the mastery of life.

~ Frances E. Willard, How I Learned To Ride The Bicycle, 1895

Leaving Assateague
Leaving Assateague

M and I are thinking about participating in the Sea Gull Century next year.  Neither of us are thinking of cycling the entire 100 miles, but half of it, to Assateague Island would be fun (and work!).

Almost to the beach
Almost to the beach

In case you’re wondering, Assateague Island National Seashore is closed due to the government shutdown.  (If you clicked on that link, you found that the website is closed as well.)  I hope the idiocracy children on Capitol Hill stop throwing tantrums soon and come to some agreement.  That’s all I’ll say about that.  In the meantime, Assateague State Park is getting a lot of the traffic that would have gone to the national parks (Assateague and Chincoteague).

No lifeguards, but lots of swimmers and surfers.
No lifeguards, but lots of swimmers and surfers.  And dolphins!  We saw dolphins while we were swimming.

Tomorrow I’ll bring you more shots from Lulu and the beach.  I have decided to start using Lulu more, partially because my regular camera has the hiccups and partially because I need to learn how to use Lulu.  I find her to be mysterious in her ways and not as user-friendly as my regular camera, but I suspect that’s because I don’t use Lulu often and haven’t taken the time to get to know her as well as I know my “good” camera.

Riding the waves
Riding the waves

Thank you for stopping by.  How was your weekend?  Did you find time to play?

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Worth watching:  Wendell Berry, Poet & Prophet.  Thank you, Wendell Berry, for, among other things, being the patron saint of farmers markets.  And thank you, Bill Moyers & Company, for bringing us this wonderful interview.  You might also want to watch the shorter Dance of the Honey Bee.  Amazing.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

17 thoughts on “A ride to Assateague

  1. In my next life I will live within bicycling distance of the beach. Not really any play on this weekend, but the satisfaction of getting some of those outside pre-winter chores done. I love it when I can cross things off a list.

    >

    Like

  2. I did! I had fun this weekend..blog will be up tomorrow…about today. Blog already up about yesterday. Your beach looks wonderful. But especially like the ‘trio’ photo. That their shirts matched the trees struck me as perfect.

    Like

    1. I am heading over to your blog as soon as I finish here, Dawn. For some reason, I have not been getting updates. That happened with quite a few people shortly after my move.
      Thank you. 🙂

      Like

  3. Not time for me to play this weekend, but I promise if you are up for the ride next year I will do my best to join you! Sounds like a fantastic late season ride.

    C

    Like

    1. I thought it might be, CM. 🙂 I’ve never been on a group ride (with more than two or three others, at any rate), but I was imagining myself amongst those bikers.

      Like

  4. Nice trip. Hope you get to ride the event next year! The warm weather is about to shift behind that rain front to your west.

    My weekend was low key involving ballroom, watching football and President’s Cup golf, and fighting off a cold.

    Like

      1. Fortunately the cold isn’t one of total misery … well, at least not yet. My sister-in-law was in town, but I stayed away because I didn’t want to infect my fragile MIL … so I was at home alone most of Sat and Sun.

        Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

