Posted in Air, Dreams, Earth, Eastern Shore, Endings, Fire, Goals, Meditation, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Water, Wonder

Sun sets and moon rises

The sunsets have been so beautiful lately.
The sunsets have been so beautiful lately.

Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.

~ Rumi

Sometimes the moon has a funny shape.  (Taken 4 days ago.)
Sometimes the moon has a funny shape. (Taken 4 days ago.)

Another year-long commitment is almost at an end.  Last year, starting at the Autumnal Equinox,  I committed to a year of daily seated meditation practice.  The equinox will be rolling around again soon, and I have been thinking about what I gained or learned over the past year.

Reflection at sunset
Reflection at sunset

I wish I could write something profound about the experience.  The problem with the profound, though, is that it is not always easy to put into words.

Mirrored
Mirrored

When you do things from your soul, you feel a river moving in you, a joy.

~ Rumi

Night approaches
Night approaches

I could tell you about the times I found bliss or joy or laughter, but I want to tell you about something else.  One of the the gifts I’ve received from meditation is a better way to cope with stress, life, the universe, and everything (yet another nod to Douglas Adams).  Because I am human and less than perfect (more on perfection in a future post), not every meditation session was a good one.  Sometimes I rushed, just to call it done.

It is one of the great paradoxes of life that very often the thing we need to do the most, at a time we need to do it the most, is the very thing we play lip service to or neglect or forget to do.  And so it was with me and meditation before, during, and after my move to the Eastern Shore.  I would sit, but very rarely would I be able to calm my thoughts or my mind, frequently because I was rushing my way through it.

Serenity
Serenity

Meditation doesn’t lead you to silence; meditation only creates the situation in which the silence happens.  And this should be the criterion — that whenever silence happens laughter will come into your life.  A vital celebration will happen all around.

~ Osho

Rounding out in the clouds
Rounding out in the clouds (3 days ago)

One day I woke up and realized I had to slow down and begin to savor my yoga and meditation time and practices.  By slowing down and savoring and treating that time as sacred, I discovered the much needed side-effect of relaxing into my new adventure and new life here on the Eastern Shore.

A touch of moon.
A touch of moon.

We could say that meditation doesn’t have a reason or doesn’t have a purpose.  In this respect it’s unlike almost all other things we do except perhaps making music and dancing.  When we make music we don’t do it in order to reach a certain point, such as the end of the composition.  If that were the purpose of music then obviously the fastest players would be the best.  Also, when we are dancing we are not aiming to arrive at a particular place on the floor as in journey.  When we dance, the journey itself is the point, as when we play music the playing itself is the point.  And exactly the same thing is true in meditation.  Meditation is the discovery that the point of life is always arrived at in the immediate moment.

~ Alan Watts

In the clouds
In the clouds

I think Mr. Watts summed it all up well for me so I’ll leave it at that.

Harvest moon rises
Harvest moon rises

I was going to take a year off from the challenges, but the move and the hot summer helped to change my mind.  I’ll let you know soon what my new year-long challenge is going to be.

Turn around and watch the sunset.
Turn around and watch the sunset.

Thanks for stopping by.  Have you watched a sunset or moonrise lately?  We had a great combination of the two here at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch last night.  From the looks of the sky today, it should be good tonight, too.  Let’s pick a bench, settle in, and watch the show in the sky.

Rising
Look back at the moon.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Lifted up
Lifted up

What’s encouraging about meditation is that even if we shut down, we can no longer shut down in ignorance.  We see very clearly that we’re closing off.  That in itself begins to illuminate the darkness of ignorance.

~ Pema Chödrön

Shine on, Harvest Moon
Shine on, Harvest Moon
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

22 thoughts on “Sun sets and moon rises

  1. Hi Robin. A nice sequence of the moon as it approaches full. I know I need to build quiet time into my day. I find this as hard to do in retirement as I did when I worked full-time. I like the idea of a challenge to get it underway. Jane

    Like

    1. I love your challenge, Elisa, and have been pondering it since I read it. I’m finding lots of resistance (within myself) to the idea, and that makes it all the more fascinating.

      Like

  2. Lovely post, Robin. It is mid-autumn festival in some parts of Asia. Everyone will be looking skyward tonight to see the full moon and enjoy time with family. I need to start shooting some sunrises.

    Like

  3. I was hoping you captured the moon for me. I saw it last night and thought of you. Thank you. And thank you for the thoughts on meditation. I have never tried it. It would probably be good for me. But I’d have to take the time…and I am so bad at that.

    Like

  4. Lovely sky, even when it’s cloudy. The photo with the moon peaking out from behind some clouds is my favorite. I do like the bunches of little tufts of clouds reflected in the water — it has a very neat effect. Very nice photos, Robin! I wish you well on your next challenge and hope it does you as much good and is as rewarding as the meditation has been for you. Your writing is always very good!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

