Posted in Air, Cycling, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Water, Wonder

Happiness is getting back up

A beautiful day for a bike ride
A beautiful day for a bike ride

Most important thing in life is learning how to fall.

~ Jeannette Walls

Hibiscus on a windy day
Hibiscus on a windy day

I spent the morning outside, and some of that outdoor time involved a ride on my bicycle.  It is a gorgeous, amazing, stupendous day.  I feel like it’s the first time I’ve ever seen a beautiful day.  That’s how wonderful it is.

Following Back Creek on my bike ride.
Following Back Creek on my bike ride.

The temperature is in the 60s and it’s windy as all get-out.  When you talk to cyclists on the Eastern Shore, they will tell you that we don’t have hills here, but we have wind.  Wind adds a great deal of resistance, and it seems to come from all directions at once.  I don’t know how it happens, but no matter which direction I take, I am riding into the wind.  Sounds impossible, right?  Come to the Eastern Shore.  I’ll prove it to you.

Bald Eagle overhead
Bald Eagle overhead

I had planned to go 11 or 12 miles on this trip.  My last ride was 10.4 or something like that, and I’m working towards higher mileage so that M and I can do some of the short loops on the bike routes around here (the short loops, by the way, are 25-40 miles).

These yellow flowers are blooming everywhere.
These yellow flowers are blooming everywhere.

I came back sooner than planned.  I did another 10.4 miles or so.  I cut the trip a little short because I took a spill.  I was turning around, went too wide, must have hit a soft or wet spot, and the next thing I knew my left foot and leg were sinking into the muck at the bottom of a ditch filled with water and my bike was sliding towards the water and all I could think of was to get the hell out of the ditch as fast as possible because I KNOW there are snakes and rats and who-knows-what-all-else living in those ditches.  It’s not easy to love nature when you’re sinking in the mud.

Aren't they pretty?
Aren’t they pretty?

And the bike!  I had to grab the bike!  It was sliding towards the water, handle bars first which is where the bag that carries my camera sits.  I was sure the camera was going to go for a dunk in the ditch.  It was not Lulu the everything-proof camera, either.  It was my good camera.  Yikes.

Nesting in the field
Nestled in the field

Thank goodness my new lifestyle changes (40+ days in) are turning me into Superwoman.  I not only took a flying leap off of the bike before it fell (thereby avoiding injury by falling with the bike), but I also managed to FLY out of the ditch and grab the bike, pulling us both to safety.

A little bit closer
A little bit closer

Phew!  I escaped the ditch (which I’m pretty sure was trying to suck me down into the mire), my camera is safe, and I didn’t even injure my pride.  It was my first fall from the bike which is something of a miracle given that I trip over my own feet when I walk on solid, even ground.

Cornfield glow
Cornfield glow

I made sure everything was okay, hopped back on the bike, and pedaled the remaining 3 miles home.  Against the wind, of course.

Yesterday's clouds breaking up.
Yesterday’s clouds breaking up.

That’s about it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch for today.  Thank you so much for stopping by and joining me on my bike ride.  I didn’t take many photos as I was busy enjoying the scenery, the fresh air, and that amazingly blue sky so I’ll fill in the the remainder of this post with images from a recent sunset.

A recent sunset
A Wabi-Sabi sunset

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Stripes
Stripes
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

43 thoughts on “Happiness is getting back up

  1. oh so glad your quick thinking and fit body saved the day, the bike and the camera. Isn’t it amazing how quickly something like that happens, our brain knows just what to do and our body cooperates. phew! and no injury to you or bike or camera. Although I suspect you spotted a scrape or two, a bruise or two, the following day.

    Like

  2. Hi Robin! It’s beautiful here too — your words and photos give a good description! My Internet time is sporadic, and I’m sure you have said what state on the Eastern Shore you are in — but what state are you in now? Or if you would rather it be anon. that’s fine! It’s beautiful in photos. I wish I could convince my hubby to move somewhere different. I do love the midwest, but you know how it is…

    Like

    1. Thank you, BATR. 🙂 I’m on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. It’s a lot different than Ohio, that’s for sure. I never thought I’d leave the Bogs so this is a surprise as well as a whole new experience.

      Like

  3. Gosh, all I can say is that you are Super Woman and I am glad you are safely out of that ditch! Sometimes we just have to get up when we fall. And you did it creatively with a story as well. 🙂

    Like

    1. LOL, CM! I was screaming (in my head) “SAVE THE CAMERA! SAVE THE CAMERA!!!!!” I’ve been known to try to save the camera before thinking about saving myself. Fortunately for the bike, it was attached to the camera so became a priority by default. 😀

      Like

  4. Whew! Super strength (experienced in slow motion no doubt). Sounds like you’re getting acquainted with the new environment…and avoiding those sluggy pitfalls. (I lived/biked right on the coast with flat, flat, flat and marshes for a bit…it is odd about that wind – no matter which way you go -it’s wind!)

    Like

  5. At times like your fall I think instincts take over. I’m sure the brain would go for self preservation but instincts are much more heroic.
    I once slipped while pushing one of the girls along in one of those old heavy carriage prams. I was just a small mite at the time but I held onto that pram all the way to stop it tipping over.

    Like

    1. It’s amazing how something takes over, Sallyann. My husband insists it’s the body reacting on its own because there is no time for the brain to kick in. I would call that instincts. 🙂

      Like

  6. It sounds like all ended well, Robin. You have my complete sympathy; I just sank into a clay/sand mire today along a lake that sucked the shoes off my feet and almost took my camera case too. Momentary scares, funny once they are over and no permanent harm done. Glad to hear that you were able to bike your way home 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Lynn. 🙂 If I had been wearing regular shoes, the muck seemed to be the right kind to suck the shoes off my feet. I wear my Vibrams (KSOs) when I ride my bike, and they are molded to my feet in such a way that they don’t come off easily unless I loosen the strap.

      Like

  7. the fall was worth it to discover your super powers … what a brilliant rescue in the face of the muddy ditch reaching out to suck you in … and fab photos, love the blue sky with little clouds 😀

    Like

  8. I don’t know, falling on bikes seems worse than falling on your own feet, because you have something else trying to attack you on your way down. I’m glad you didn’t get really hurt though! And who designed the “short loops”?! Your son? (who, by the way, said we were going on a 2 mile hike the other day – it was 8 miles and included climbing around a road that had washed out years before). Oh well, all’s well that ends well! We’ll have to find a time to come down and hit some of those bike trails with you guys!

    Like

    1. lol, Meredith!! He probably got his sense of distance from his father. M is the same way, although I suspect he does it on purpose just to get us to hike or bike farther than I would if he started out by saying, “Let’s go on an 8 mile hike!” I hope you do find time to come down and explore with us. I think you and Marty would love it. 🙂

      Like

  9. Glad to hear that you survived your fall. I wouldn’t have thought otherwise, for I am aware of your super powers… 😉 I hope to take you up sometime on your biking in the wind challenge. Sounds like something I would love. Take care, and remember to keep the rubber side down.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

