Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Home, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Spirit, Summer, Travel

Left or right?

Coming home.  (Chesapeake Bay Bridge.)
Coming home. (Chesapeake Bay Bridge.)

If your love is for the left lane, swing on over there and feel the wind flying through your hair, and the bugs splatting against your dark glasses.  But if the right lane beckons you, indulge your penchant for counting wildflowers in the field or discarded tennis shoes on the freeway.  Most important, we must all remember, left-laners or right-laners, we are to be tender with each other.

~ Marilyn Meberg

Water tower taken from the Navy-Marine Corp Memorial Stadium
Water tower taken from the Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium

We had a holiday weekend here in the U.S.  Labor Day weekend.  The unofficial last weekend of summer.  M and I went to Annapolis to visit with friends and to attend the Drum Corps Associates World Championships which was held at the Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium.

On the field
On the field

It was incredibly hot and humid on the night of the event.  I’m pretty sure the temperature climbed throughout the evening.  I am amazed that no one performing passed out.  There was a point where I thought I might, but I left the seating area and found a breeze where I could stand and watch the action.

Line up
Line up

I took a few random shots during the competition, none of which are all that great.  I messed with them a bit in Photoshop just for the fun of it.

Flag twirling
Flag twirling

I’m not all that into the drum corps competitions, but it’s something M really likes to do and I usually end up enjoying it in spite of myself.  Even with the heat, that turned out to be true this time, too.

A late daylily
A late daylily

After the competition, we walked around Annapolis a little bit.  Our main purpose was gelato.  We’d gone to Annapolis for dinner at the Amsterdam Falafel Shop which is located in the Market House, a collection of vendors and eateries in an historic building across from the City Dock (where you can have a good look at some very expensive boats).  While walking around the Market House to decide what to have for dinner, we all noticed Firenzes Gelateria, and decided we had to go back after the competition to have a late night dessert.  It was an excellent decision as the gelato was amazing.  I had a scoop of cinnamon and a scoop of sea salt caramel, and both were heavenly.

In Jane's garden
In Jane’s garden

It was nice to spend time with friends.  I am somewhat isolated here at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, and it’s good for me to get out and interact with people every now and then.  Otherwise, I might turn into a hermit.

Outstretched
Outstretched

What did you do over the weekend?  Did you attend any end-of-summer celebrations or events?  I hope you had some fun, whatever it is you did (or didn’t do).

Sipping breakfast
Sipping breakfast

Thank you for stopping by on this very hot and humid day.  It’s not a particularly good day for a walk around the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  It’s supposed to cool down around mid-week.  When it does, I’ll take you out for a look around to see what’s going on out there.

Yesterday's sunset
Yesterday’s sunset

One more question for you before I go:  Are you a left-laner or a right laner?

Fire in the marsh
Light in the marsh

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Hanging on the edge.
Hanging on the edge.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

20 thoughts on “Left or right?

  1. I would have loved the drum corps competition. Did know about DCA, which I imagine is a stepping stone to DCI. Thanks for the glimpses of the Naval Academy, the only service academy I haven’t visited. Love the outstretched butterfly pic!!!!

    Like

  2. I would TOTALLY have loved the gelato, but NOT the heat! Hopefully things will cool down soon. I suppose I might have enjoyed the drums, as well, but the heat would have gotten in the way. I suppose I’m spoiled by the weather where we now live. Stay cool, my friend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Like

  3. I went to visit my daughter in humid, humid North Carolina. She has the same yellow butterflies in her garden as the gorgeous ones in your pictures! There’s something soul-stirring about live music, even if it is not of our favorite genre. 🙂

    Like

  4. The butterflies and sunset pictures are just lovely! I agree it is good to get out with friends. I’m not isolated here, but most of my good friends no longer live in the immediate area, so it is great when we all get together. My Labor Day weekend? I labored – at home improvement projects (something I know you are all too familiar with these days!) Left lane or right? In actual driving on the highway, I am a left-laner for sure. I’m impatient to get to my destination. In life, I think I’m more of a right-laner – things will happen in life when they happen.

    Like

    1. I think you’re the only person who answered that question, Karma. Thank you. 🙂 And yep, I am all too familiar with home improvement projects. Home improvement is going to be the story of my life for a while. 😀

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

