Posted in Assateague Island, Beach, Critters, Dreams, Earth, Eastern Shore, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Spirit, Summer, Water

There goes August

August 2013 035a
Soft summer evening

It’s always summer somewhere.

~ Lily Pulitzer

Dancing on the beach
Dancing on the beach

As you all know, I am not the world’s biggest fan of summer, but there are many things about it I like.  Fireflies in the meadows, the colors, the flowers, the cool downs (which are profoundly appreciated after a heat wave), beach days, swimming, and so many other things that it would take me too long to list them all.

Looking out at the sea
Looking out at the sea

It’s hard to believe that we’re already at the end of August.  It seems like I just arrived at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch with all my worldly goods.  To be honest, it looks like it, too, since so many boxes are still waiting to be unpacked.

Walking off
Sashay

Some days it seems as though we’ve made a lot of progress here.  Other days, not so much.  It’s the waiting on others that makes it not so much.  Businesses around here are in no hurry to get our business.

Every body's stepping
Every body’s stepping

Perhaps the unofficial end of summer, this Labor Day weekend, will see an end to the slow and lazy days of vacations and beach outings, and we’ll finally get the answers and workers we have been seeking.

Great Blue Heron
Great Blue Heron

Then again, maybe not.  This is the Eastern Shore and we’ve been warned many times about Eastern Shore Time.  It’ll happen when it happens, and not a moment before.  This place is going to teach me patience.

Little Green Heron
Little Green Heron

I suspect summer will linger here long after the Autumnal Equinox.  M thinks it will cool down by mid-September or the beginning of October.  I wouldn’t mind being wrong.  I am looking forward to spending time exploring without the heat, the humidity, and the ever annoying insects.

Glossy Ibis
Glossy Ibis

I reckon that’s it for this lovely Friday at the end of August.  Thank you for visiting.  Welcome to my new visitors and subscribers.  Hello and thank you to those of you who have been around a while.  I appreciate all your visits, likes, and comments.  I’m trying to get caught up here and with you.  If I haven’t been around yet, hopefully I’ll visit your place soon.

Have a delightful weekend, wherever you are and whatever you’re doing.

Waves of fun
Waves of fun

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

The last chair
The last chair
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

37 thoughts on “There goes August

  1. It’s always summer somewhere. Yes it is, and that’s where we are headed, although I don’t want it to arrive in too much of a hurry. The weather we are having now is just right and I’m getting into a lot of gardening. Your beach looks so lovely, I hope you will go there during winter as well. It would be interesting to see if it changes any during your colder winter. Our beaches here look pretty much the same all year around, but our temperatures don’t get very low here either.

    Like

    1. I’m hoping to spend lots of time at the beach during the winter months, Joanne. It doesn’t get as cold here as it did in the Bogs, and I think exploring the beaches around here in the winter will be fun. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi. I really appreciate the clear shot of the Glossy Ibis. We see them as a rarity in New Brunswick. Once we saw one that stayed for days in the Jemseg marshes. It fed in the deep grass and hardly moved. Jane

    Like

  3. I have been trying to get a shot of the little green heron. We have three here this summer. They nest in the empty lots behind our house, and hang out at the pond across the street. They make such a ruckus in the evening coming back to the nest, but I only catch a glimpse of them, and never when I have the camera. They are really interesting birds.

    Like

  4. Always beautiful photos, and I love the Pulitzer quote! The horses in the mist is such a fantastic photo! Robin, would you be opposed to me posting about you using a selection of your photos? If I did this I would leave your watermark on them and make sure the text of the post gives you credit for the photos. I really like your work, and would love to show it off to the few followers of mine who aren’t already following you.

    Like

  5. That is quite the menagerie of birds you saw … lucky you .. the beach looks like a restful place, too. Fall is coming, signs of it are everywhere here … leaves are changing and birds are beginning to flock up … wish the bugs would pack up and leave, they have over stayed their allotted time to torture us this year. 😉

    Like

  6. What a wonderful collection of bird photos here! You’ve got some really nice pictures, some of shore birds that I’ve never seen. Love that last photo of the last chair. That would be me sitting in that chair if at all possible, holding on with a tight grip, asking summer to never go away!

    Like

  7. Hi Robin! Happy end-of-August. I love that bird with its foot out, the fourth one down. Oh, and the ponies. Wouldn’t have even noticed the chair if Karma hadn’t just mentioned it. YES! Lovely. Isn’t it interesting that Life takes us where we need to go next? Wondering for a second if we really need to learn patience. Or do we learn to more truly allow and accept and find a space where impatience can simply “be”? Maybe we need to learn how to be impatient without pushing it away or acting out. Just a thought this late August morning…

    Like

    1. I like that one too, Kathy. The bird looks like it’s dancing to me. 🙂 Interesting thoughts and question about patience and impatience. I’ll have to give that a try, and just let my impatience simply be.

      Like

  8. Seasonal changes are always exciting times. As for still living in boxes – it does take time to completely settled in to a new place, doesn’t it? That first image with the horses, by the way, is gorgeous.

    Like

    1. They are exciting times, Otto. It’s fun to watch what will happen next, especially since I’m in a new place and unfamiliar with the seasons here.
      Thank you so much. 🙂

      Like

  9. I love the horses and birds. Great photos, as always, Robin! We had a relatively cool summer here in GA. It was great, even though we got twice as much rain as usual. I hope you have a fun holiday weekend!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

