Posted in Air, Critters, Cycling, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Goals, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Spirit, Water, Wonder

Gifts of the morning

Early morning
Early morning

Here, fire turns into water;
Here, the dancing of the rain declares the sun.
There’s no opposition in existence, no contradiction;
Everything supports everything else.

~ Osho

Out and about.
Out and about.

I went for a bike ride this morning.  It was meant to be a quick ride, just a couple of miles, but I ended up going 10.5 miles, and probably would have stayed out longer if it hadn’t dawned on me that I forgot to apply sunscreen.  In the early, early morning, that’s okay.  But it was no longer early, early morning when I remembered what I’d forgotten.

A glimpse of Back Creek.
A glimpse of Back Creek.

Back Creek, the creek that our dock sits in/on, winds around for quite a few miles around here.  Almost every road I went down or up eventually encounters and/or crosses over the creek somewhere.

What are those pretty pink flowers?
What are those pretty pink flowers?

Just before I got to the creek the first time this morning, I passed a field filled with pink flowers.  I wish the camera could capture how beautiful it was in the early morning sunlight.

It looks like some sort of hibiscus.
Swamp rose mallow?

I think they are some sort of swamp rose mallow, which is a type of hibiscus that grows in wetlands.

August 2013 010a

I was going to write that it was a quiet morning.  As far as people noises (traffic and lawn mowers and tractors and such), it was quiet.  But the wind was blustery, the birds were chattering and singing, and the cicadas were practically screaming.  I think there were a few frogs serenading me as well.

August 2013 014a

There are all kinds of flowers blooming.   I’m not sure if they’re wildflowers or garden flowers that escaped the confines of the garden and are now living wild and free.

Hibiscus
Hibiscus

The hibiscus is one of those flowers that scattered itself throughout the wild.  I’m not sure if it’s native or not.  You can find them blooming practically everywhere on this part of the Eastern Shore, including near the beaches.  During our last visit to Chincoteague, while biking on the Wildlife Loop Trail, I came across a couple who had obviously been arguing.  The young man left the trail and walked down into the marsh, coming back up with a large, white hibiscus flower, and handed it rather gracefully to the young woman.  Judging by her expression, she was pleased with the flower, but it was obvious he was going to have to come up with something better than that.  It must have been a doozy of a disagreement.

Let's stand here and look at the creek for a few minutes.
Let’s stand here and look at the creek for a few minutes.

I stopped on one of the bridges that go over Back Creek to watch the water for a little while.  There was all kinds of splashing going on.

Fish!
Fish!

Looking down rather than out, I saw there were thousands of small fish swimming and splashing and jumping around in the creek.  They were swimming in swirls, very much like the starling murmuration I saw in the sky a little while later.  Undulating groups of animals in water and sky.  How cool is that?  (In case you don’t know what a starling murmuration is, you can watch one here.)

Little blue flower
Little blue flower

Leaving the creek for a while, I turned around and headed towards Raccoon Point.

Past fields of corn
Past fields of corn
Heading towards "The Church in the Shire" (which is not its real name, but what I call it).
Heading towards “The Church in the Shire” (which is not its real name, but what I call it).

As I went past the corn, I noticed the morning glories blooming among the stalks so I stopped to take a picture.

Morning glory in the corn
Morning glory in the corn

I’m so glad I stopped because when I looked up, someone was looking back at me.

A fawn leaving the cornfield.
A fawn leaving the cornfield.

The moment was marred somewhat by another creature walking by the front of my bike.  He came out the cornfield, saw me, and ran across the road.  I didn’t catch it with the camera.  Probably just as well.  It was a big rat.  *shudder*  I can take snakes and spiders, but rats?  Given all the snakes I’ve seen around here, I’m surprised there wasn’t one in pursuit of the rat.

August 2013 039a
Come on!

That’s it from the Eastern Shore for today.  Remind me sometime to show you the patriotic wild turkey.  This post is image laden enough.

Thank you for visiting, and riding along with me.  I hope you had a delightful Thursday, wherever you were and whatever you were doing.

The brother or sister of the first fawn.  I almost missed it!
The brother or sister of the first fawn. I almost missed it.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Wild turkey
Why make you wait? The Patriotic Wild turkey.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

14 thoughts on “Gifts of the morning

  1. What a great place to ride the bike. I think I need to get mine down from the garage and start venturing a little further with the camera (and not hop in the car). It is these little scenes that are the coolest.

    Like

  2. Now that looks like a lovely bike ride. I can see why you kept going. I love the little pink flower you came across in the wetlands! And what a lovely surprise just before you were interrupted by the rat! Gotta tell you my rat story one of these days!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Like

  3. What a wonderful morning ride! What great sights you saw! You are making me wish for a similar experience. I haven’t been on my bike in ages, but they do say it is like, well, uh, riding a bike 😉

    Like

  4. Aw, you just saw all kinds of wildlife on your ride! I hope you didn’t get too sunburned taking all these pictures that we enjoy so much! The morning flowers were just beautiful, and that girl should have enjoyed her hibiscus more, the ingrate. Lol, I guess she wanted him to work a little harder for her!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

