Posted in Digital Art, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Water, Wonder

August roses

Dew kissed
Dew kissed

Won’t you come into my garden?  I would like my roses to see you.

~ Richard Brinsley Sheridan

The color version
The color version

Spider webs were not the only things to catch my eye early yesterday morning.  Although I still have plenty of webs to show you, the roses wanted their turn today.

August 2013 007b
A hint of rose

Our red, red roses are still blooming.  The Japanese beetles have taken over the pink and peach colored roses, but don’t seem to like red.  The red is so vibrant that I have to tone it down when I edit the photos for my blog.  I found that I rather like some of them in black and white, or with just a hint of color.

In living color
In living color

I decided to show you both.  I know some folks don’t care much for black & white, whilst others love it.  Why not have the best of both worlds?

August 2013 010a-001
Beading

It will never rain roses:  when we want to have more roses we must plant more trees.

~ George Eliot

Beading in color
Beading in color

How is your Thursday going?  I’ve been keeping busy with my new daily routine of meditation/contemplation, journaling, yoga, exercise of some sort (today it was a 3-mile walk/jog and a 10-minute core workout), a walk or a bike ride outside (because of the heat and humidity, my cardio versions of the walk/jogs take place indoors on the treadmill), reading, and a reasonable list of chores.  It feels good to finally settle into some sort of routine.

Dew kissed leaves on the rose bush.
Dew kissed leaves on the rose bush.

I didn’t take as many rose photos as I thought so we’ll have to move on to a few more spider webs while I finish up this post.  You don’t mind, do you?

August 2013 015a

Humankind has not woven the web of life.  We are but one thread in it.  Whatever we do to the web, we do to ourselves.  All things are bound together.  All things connect.

~ Chief Seattle

Connections
Connections

That should do it for this summery Thursday.  The dark and dreary clouds that brought yesterday’s fog and rain have cleared out, leaving behind a few puffy white clouds to decorate the blue sky.  It’s still hot and humid, but they’re saying that will clear out this weekend.  Saturday and Sunday, according to the latest forecasts, are looking good.  I’m hoping to get to the beach, go for a long bike ride, and do some outdoor work around the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.

It's in the details
It’s in the details

Thank you for stopping by to look at the roses.  If you use your imagination, I bet you can almost smell them.

Shooting through the web.  I like this shot.  It has the web, which you can barely see, along with colorful reflections on the surface of the pond.
Shooting through the web. I like this shot. It has the web, which you can barely see, along with colorful reflections on the surface of the pond.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Arches
Arches
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

37 thoughts on “August roses

  1. Every single one of todays photos are my favourite Robin! It looks like you had one of those days when the light of the day worked completely in your favour and the dew drops are adding their own magical touch as well. I love both the colour and the black and white. Did you try any of the photos in sepia? I’m spending half the day today in the garden, then indoors for a quick clean of the house. Later this afternoon I’m going party food shopping. My son is having his 16th birthday party here on Saturday night and we are expecting about thirty teeneagers to be here! Wish me luck…. 🙂

    Like

  2. Black and white allows the viewer to choose their favorite rose color and imagine … I like them. Especially with these shots because it shows off the absolutely, perfect dew drops. They are so perfect, I don’t think anyone could spritz them and create the same look … what nature creates is usually one of a kind and pretty amazing.

    Like

  3. You have massive spider webs there! Ours here in this neck of the woods are piddly in comparison. Beautiful shots of them — they show up so well, which is something I have had no luck with doing here. I love the shots of your dew-covered roses! My favorite is the one with just a hint of color (it looks like an antique light purple), and the dewdrops make everything look like it’s been dipped in sugar. Lovely set of photos, Robin!

    Like

  4. Your morning photos have made me wish that I was a morning person! I have a hard enough time prying myself out of bed at 6:30 to go to work…. someday I will! All of the photos here are just beautiful – but you know my love for b&w, I would have to say that those are definitely my favorite!! ♥

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

