Posted in Air, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Home, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Spirit, Summer, Travel, Walking & Wandering, Water, Woods

Meanwhile, back at the ranch

Looking through
Looking through

If you look at zero you see nothing; but look through it and you will see the world.

~ Robert Kaplan

One of the Asian Pear trees.
One of the Asian Pear trees.

In case you haven’t guessed from my last post, I took another trip back to the Bogs.  It was lovely.  I spent good, quality time with my granddaughters, as well as with my sons and their wonderful wives.

A walk in the woods
A walk in the woods

One of the unexpected benefits of the trip was that I find myself ready to settle in here at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  Finally!

Back Creek
Back Creek

A lot of chapters were closed with this last trip.  Closure, they say, is good.  I tend to agree.  It certainly helps when it comes to moving on.

Grasses near high tide
Grasses near high tide

Before my trip, I hadn’t been out to the dock in about 2-3 weeks.  Hard to believe, isn’t it?  But I was so fed up with the heat, the humidity, and the bugs that I’d given up on going out there.

A neighbor's old dock
A neighbor’s old dock

It was good to get out there again, and remember why I wanted to live here in the first place.  I feel as if I’m on vacation whenever I sit on the dock and look out at the scenery.  It’s so peaceful and beautiful out there.

Calm
Calm

The weather out in the Bogs was fantastic.  Cool, breezy, and no need to turn on the air conditioning.  I am grateful that the cooler, drier weather accompanied us on our trip back to the Eastern Shore.  We hit heavy, heavy rain after crossing over the Chesapeake Bay Bridge, but that heavy, heavy rain eventually cleared out and took the heat and humidity with it.

I have never seen a butterfly like this before yesterday.
I have never seen a butterfly like this before yesterday.   I met him or her in the woods on my way back from visiting the dock.

M and I worked outside yesterday.  It was good to get out and enjoy the sun and fresh air.  I spent a couple of hours lopping down vines in the woods and grasses growing over the boardwalk to the dock.  I also helped M a little with hauling some of the trash to the ever-growing trash pile that we’re readying for the Junk Man.

August 2013 020a

We made a few new discoveries.  It’s like an adventure around here, with surprises popping up all over the place, some things I’ve never seen before in my life.  I’ll show you some of those tomorrow.  I wanted to show you the pretty stuff today.

August 2013 021a

I reckon that’s it for today.  Thank you for stopping by.  It’s a gorgeous, fabulous day here on the Eastern Shore.  Let’s go out to the dock and pretend we’re on vacation.  There are just enough clouds around that we should have a beautiful sunset.  Bring your fishing rod if you’re so inclined.  I hear the fishing is fine.

Magnolia in the woods
Magnolia in the woods

Be good, be kind, be living.  Just Be.  🙂

Leaves are changing here  and there
Leaves are changing here and there
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

34 thoughts on “Meanwhile, back at the ranch

  1. I think it takes time to settle in new places. One often needs to develop a new relationship with the land, with “what is”. We think it’s supposed to be instantaneous, but so often it’s not. We need to cultivate our new relationship. I’ve told people it took at least three years before I learned to love this place.

    Like

    1. I think three years sounds about right, Kathy. It’s been so long since we last moved that I’d forgotten it wasn’t an instant adjustment. I grew to love the Bogs, but the key there is “grew.” It took time. Thank you for the reminder. 🙂

      Like

  2. Welcome back.
    I agree, it takes awhile for a new place to feel like home.
    That butterfly is gorgeous .. luck you finding it and it sitting still enough to get good shots of it.
    those Asian pears look yummy.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Bearyweather. 🙂 The Asian Pears, as it turns out, are not even close to being ripe yet. I know this because we picked some, thinking they must be ripe by now, and found them to be hard as a rock and bitter. Guess I have a thing or two to learn about Asian Pears. As for the butterfly, that was great luck indeed. It flew around and over me a few times before landing in a place nearby. All I had to do was stand still and take photos.

      Like

  3. I know the last time I moved I had to cut the cord, so to speak. I could not go back. I have to admit, I still wake up in the middle of the night and think I am back in my other house. Ah well. It was a wonderful house. 🙂 But new memories are waiting on me here.

    Like

    1. It’s the new experiences that keep us moving forward, CM. 🙂 I think if we didn’t have family living in the old place, I probably wouldn’t go back.

      Like

    1. Thank you, Terry. 🙂 I’m going to have something especially for you today (if I manage to put out a post today and if I don’t, then it will be tomorrow).

      Like

    1. Thank you, Elisa, for the links and the name of the butterfly. What a great a name! I wish I could have captured the iridescent qualities a little better. The sunlight was sparkling off the butterfly’s wings.

      Like

  4. These photographs are absolutely beautiful. The first one spoke to me right away. I love the “against-light” technique especially when the sky is tinted with this beautiful hue in particular.

    My second favorite out of this collection is the butterfly. I’m a sucker for nature in general, so I actually love all of your photos, but the butterfly is just amazing. The last photograph, leaves changing here and there, is simply gorgeous. The contrast between the light and shadows is subtle and this is something I love in a photograph.

    One question, and I apologize if you’ve mentioned that in your post, but what camera do you use usually? Or what camera did you use while taking these pictures [in case you have more than one choice of a camera available] And do your photographs go through a later photoshop editing session to fix the colors and brightness/contrast?

    Like

    1. Hi Nour. Welcome to my blog. 🙂 Thank you so much for all of the lovely comments.

      The camera I use is a point & shoot (Kodak Easyshare Z981). It has some manual capabilities and I use those the majority of the time. It was the best I could afford at the time. Perhaps someday I’ll get a DSLR. I do use Photoshop to tweak the images for the blog (I use an action that resizes and sharpens the images), and sometimes tweak the contrast or brightness. For some images, I go a little farther and play around in Photoshop with brightening, blurring, and boosting the colors, or switching to black & white, but I have been learning how to do that in camera so I don’t have to do it in Photoshop nearly as much. My camera sometimes comes up with a painting-like effect, and when I underexpose in the right light (such as in the last photo in this post), I can almost get an Orton effect.

      I do have another camera. A Panasonic Lumix point and shoot. It’s a “go anywhere” camera that’s shock proof, waterproof, sand proof, etc. I use it when I’m on the water or when I go to the beach. It’s small and easy to carry.

      Like

      1. Nice :3

        I don’t go out much. I’m usually too busy to. I love taking pictures, but the natural elements that I usually look for are not found around me. I have to go on an hour or two trip in order to reach such a destination. I usually take pictures of my cat or my family and friends when I can’t head to the said places.

        My ultimate photography-related dream is that I roam around the world and take tons and tons of pictures of the countries I go to so I document my trip around the globe.

        What about you? Do you already travel? Or have similar plans? Is photography a hobby for you, or more of a lifetime career?

        Like

        1. Hi Nour. Sorry I took so long to respond to your questions/comment. It’s been a busy few weeks. I travel, but not always very far from home. Photography is a passion for me, but I don’t make enough from it to call it a lifetime career. 🙂

          Like

  5. What a stunning butterfly! Gorgeous. Butterflies have been on my mind lately.
    I’m glad you’ve got better weather to be enjoying your surroundings; if I wasn’t bothered by bugs, I’m sure I could while away many hours contentedly on your dock.

    Like

    1. I searched a butterfly ID guide, and I think I found yours: a red-spotted purple. It has a more complicated latin name, but I liked the common name. I had no idea that butterflies were sometimes just called by color.

      Like

      1. Thank you, Karma! 🙂 I didn’t know they were sometimes named by color, either. As for the bugs, well, they aren’t bad out on the dock where it’s breezy. The problem is getting to the dock in the first place. The woods, which you have to walk through to get to the dock. are filled with mosquitoes, deer flies, and ticks. Oh my.

        Like

  6. Glad to know you’re ready to settle in. Change is difficult. Believe me, I know.

    Hope you’re doing well. Sorry to have been away. Been busy working on my memoir. Excuses, excuses! Right? I’ve missed you.

    Love the butterfly images, by the way!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Like

    1. Hi Kathy M! Great to see you again. I’ve missed you, too. Glad you’re working on that memoir. I’m looking forward to reading it when it’s published. 🙂

      Like

  7. Pingback: Mrs. City Boy

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

