Posted in Air, Critters, Earth, Fire, Mindfulness, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, The Bogs, Walking & Wandering, Water

Revisiting the Bogs

As assortment of grasses
Fireworks in the meadow

A child said What is the grass? fetching it to me with full hands;
How could I answer the child? I do not know what it is any more
than he.

~ Walt Whitman, Song of Myself

July 2013 019a
An assortment of grasses

Get close to grass and you’ll see a star.

~ Dejan Stojanovic, The Sun Watches the Sun

Two
Two

Of all the things I photograph, I like the meadows the best.  The grasses are so beautiful, especially when the wind moves through, creating waves and ripples.  I know the meadows at Breezy Acres well, and have my favorite spots.  I find the assortment of grasses endlessly fascinating.  Someday I’ll know the meadows here at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch just as well, but for now, it’s all new and only vaguely familiar.

The seedy section of meadow town.
The seedy section of meadow town.

I like the wildflowers, too.  I often forget their names, but I do recognize their faces.

Leaning over to talk to the neighbor.
Leaning over to talk to the neighbor.

Silently a flower blooms,
In silence it falls away;
Yet here now, at this moment, at this place,
The world of the flower, the whole of
the world is blooming.
This is the talk of the flower, the truth
of the blossom:
The glory of eternal life is fully shining here.

~ Zenkei Shibayama

The world of the flower
The world of the flower

On my way to the cattails, I passed the wisteria, thinking I missed its blossoming time.  But there, in the shadows, was one small gift.  The last of this year’s wisteria flowers.

The last one out is not the rotten egg.
The last one out is not the rotten egg.

The dragonflies came out to play, but I’m saving them for another post.  Instead, I’ll show you something I’ve caught glimpses of when we lived in the Bogs, but was never able to capture until I took that last walk around the pond before traveling back to the Eastern Shore last week.

Oh!  Look at you!  Turn around, please.  Pretty please??
Oh! Look at you! Turn around, please. Pretty please??

It’s a Cedar Waxwing.  Not only did this lovely creature turn around, but he or she (I’m not sure) moved closer.  Just for me, I like to think.

Thank you!
Thank you!

Thank you for stopping by, and joining me for another look at what I found going on at Breezy Acres in the Bogs.  It’s nice to revisit cooler weather memories.  The heatwave continues and so far, the heat index is up to 112 again at noon.  The dew point is at an astounding 81 degrees.  Good grief.  We’ll soon have to swim rather than walk through the air.

Deepening into sunset
Deepening into sunset

Have a great weekend!  I’ll be back sometime with the dragonflies.  In the meantime, be good, be loving, be kind.  Just Be.  🙂

A crescent moon over the Bogs at sunset.
A crescent moon over the Bogs at sunset.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

33 thoughts on “Revisiting the Bogs

  1. Oh how lovely…the bogs…and a cedar waxwing…how wonderful that you have that. I love the ‘grasses’ we have some in the corners of the yard that are close to 7 feet tall this year. Thank you so much for sharing these.

    Like

  2. I love the cedar waxwing – it sure gave you a good view! We don’t see them here except when they migrate. Last fall they passed through by the 100’s.

    And that crescent moon shot is great – good catch!

    Nancy

    Like

  3. “The seedy” part of town – lol! 😉 That was cute! I got my first ever view and picture of a cedar waxwing this year too, when I went to Peaks Island in Maine. Really neat looking birds!

    Like

  4. What a great shot of the cedar waxwing. I’ve never seen one. It looks like a yellow cardinal. It’s nice that it was so accommodating for you. I just had some kind of bird hopping back and forth on the two rockers that sit on my porch outside the study window. It was giving me the whatfor. Not sure why it was so upset.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Bearyweather. 🙂 The purple flower is a Blue Vervain (or Swamp Verbena). I had to look it up because I’d forgotten its name. I wish my head would retain that kind of information, but it almost never does.

      Like

    1. This is the first one I’ve had a good look at, Jane. I’ve caught glimpses from time to time. I was thrilled when he or she decided to move a little closer and let me take a few shots. 🙂

      Like

  5. Glad you could visit the Bog…did you actually go or are these memories? We only have cedar waxwings while they migrate, so we may or may not see them in any given year. We usually notice them because they come in flocks, only for a day or so. They are so beautiful.

    Thanks for sharing. You have a great weekend too…wherever you are.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome, Dawn. And thank you. I did go back to the Bogs for a few days. I’ll be going back again soon, and then that will be it for a while. It will be time to get truly settled in here on the Eastern Shore. 🙂

      Like

  6. It takes a while to settle in to a new place and learn all its charms and life. The Bogs will always be a part of you and every so often, whether in person or in picture, you can stop by for a wee visit. Cedar Waxwings are a very shy bird so yes, this one was there just for you.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Marie. 🙂 I wish it were cooler. Still the same old heatwave and no sign of any change within the next week. I’m going to really appreciate Old Man Winter when he comes around.

      Like

  7. Lovely photo’s, always Robin, and of course, my favourite is the beautiful Waxwing, and the grasses, and the… erm actually they all are. The Bogs showing off especially for you (and us too of course) . Great to re-visit, and absorb the beauty again. happy New trails xPenx

    Like

  8. Robin, I agree with Pen~~I love that the Waxwing actually turned just for you. The Bogs were sweet to walk down Memory’s paths with you (and us). Keep your eye peeled on your mailbox. A little something is headed your way.

    Like

  9. What a treat to see such wonderful pictures of the cedar waxwing! They are gorgeous, and I’m so glad he posed for the shot! Breezy Acres is apparently still beautiful, and you took lovely pictures during your visit there. Glad you had a great visit!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

