Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Family, Fire, Home, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Pond, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Travel, Walking & Wandering, Water, Wonder

A lovely pause

Hydrangea sparkle
Hydrangea sparkle.  (Processed in Pixlr.)

A person looks,
The blossoms look back:
Plain heart seeing
into plain heart.

~ Sun Bu-er

Home of the Fae
Home of the Fae

Hello!  How are you?  Anything new going on in your life?

Beauty in pastels
Beauty in pastels

I had a lovely pause from Ye Olde Blogge.  It was good to step back for a little while, and make a trip to the well to refresh and renew.

How is it I never before noticed the beauty of the hydrangeas when they are almost in full bloom?
How is it I never before noticed the beauty of the hydrangeas when they are almost in full bloom?

The soul is not in the universe; on the contrary, the universe is in the Soul.

~ Plotinus

Milkweed
Milkweed

I took a short, but wonderful, trip back to the Bogs.  There was business and there was pleasure, but mostly pleasure.  I had time to walk around the pond and the meadows and all of Breezy Acres to see what’s been going on since I moved.  Most importantly, I had time with family, with M the Younger and Mere (his lovely wife), Bo the Dog, and Bo’s new companion, Denver the Kitten.

Recognize this place?
Recognize this place?  Last Thursday’s view of the pond at Breezy Acres.

I thoroughly enjoyed the cool, dry air.  It was Windows Open weather with a nice breeze blowing in through the curtains.  I could walk outside without donning the insect-repelling gear that is so necessary here at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  I loved going out in shorts and a t-shirt.  Boots were necessary because there has been a lot of rain in the Bogs lately, but insect repellent spray and mosquito netting to keep away the deer flies (and mosquitoes) were not.  Not that the Bogs are insect-free.  There was the occasional deer fly or mosquito.  Ticks were not a concern as we never had (and still don’t have) a tick problem at Breezy Acres.

Redbud leaves
Redbud leaves

The one you are looking for is the one who is looking.

~ Francis of Assisi

By the pond
By the pond

I reentered the land of heat and humidity yesterday evening, but it’s going to be like that in the Bogs this week, too.  A lot of the U.S. will be suffering from the intense heat of summer.  I am grateful I had the opportunity to experience a cool-down for a little while, and to once again take deep breaths of fresh air (rather than air conditioned or hot and humid air).

These little damselflies look like fairies sparkling in the sunlight when they're flying around.
These tiny damselflies look like fairies sparkling in the sunlight when they’re flying around.

I am immensely grateful for the time with family, for the laughter, the joy, and the love.  And also for the sheer joy of watching a kitten at play.  Denver was a good reminder that silliness and total abandonment to play lightens the heart and the soul.

This little ball of fur rarely holds still long enough for a good photo.
This little ball of fur rarely holds still long enough for a good photo.

My daughter-in-law is doing wonderful things with the house.  I already knew she would so I would have expected nothing less.  (Thank you, Mere!)

It was reassuring, in a way, to walk around the property and realize that it, too, is wild.  Perhaps not quite as wild as nature is at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, but darn near.  The young people are having as much trouble keeping up as us older folks.  Like us, they are learning what’s what, and how to deal with whatever needs care, and trying to find the time to do what needs doing.  I gained a deep appreciation for how much work M did when he was puttering around the property at Breezy Acres now that I see it reverting back to a wilder state.

Because
Because

That’s it from me and from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch for this intensely summery Monday.  Thank you for stopping by and visiting the Bogs with me once again.  I have more photos from the Bogs and Breezy Acres, and will post them as soon as I have things sorted out.  I hope all is well with you.

A little time to reflect
A little time to reflect

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Trees on water
Trees on water
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

35 thoughts on “A lovely pause

  1. deep breaths of cool fresh air, such a pleasure! so much in this post robin, such beauty, illumination and something undefinable … thanks for your words and images today 🙂

    Like

  2. I am happy that you were able to go home for a cool breeze and good family times. Love the first two hydrangea pictures …. I have never seen one like that (blue/pink mix). The small purple flower by the pond … I actually took a picture of one of those today, too (not quite as developed as yours). And, I did not realize that is what the milkweeds look like this time of year … I will have to go out and look (with full bug garb).

    Like

    1. Thank you, Bearyweather. 🙂 I think that hydrangea is called a Red, White, & Blue for the mix of colors. I didn’t learn about the milkweed until last year when I first saw the blooms.

      Like

  3. Lovely.

    “Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That’s why we call it the present.” ― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

    Like

  4. Hydrangeas are one of my all-time favourite flowers Robin, so thank you for sharing yours from The Bogs. I too felt refreshed by simply visiting The Bogs through your words and photos, and isn’t Denver absolutely the cutest kitten! Lovely to visit with you today. 🙂

    Like

  5. The hydrangeas are gorgeous! I’m not seeing any buds on mine this year unfortunately. Sounds like you had a good visit to the Bogs. I hope it didn’t make you homesick. I think many people are starting to realize just how true it is when we east-coasters say stuff like “its not the heat, its the humidity!” – saw another blog post of someone from out west who had visited Massachusetts and couldn’t get over the humidity.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. 🙂 My sister-in-law is having the same problem (no buds on her hydrangeas this year). Ours had an off year last year, so maybe they take a rest every now and then. As for humidity, we experienced that in Ohio, too, but not as frequently as here on the coast.

      Like

  6. your happiness at visiting The Bogs shone through and made me happy too Robin, I felt I was with you, looking over your shoulder at a place I knew!! I love the changing colours of Hydrangeas, and the look, like fragile pieces of paper thin cloth, almost tie died. . A refreshing visit all round methinks. Happy revisiting of old trails 🙂 xPenx

    Like

  7. Did your son and daughter-in-law move to the bogs? If so, how nice for you to be able to return for visits. I suspect it was bittersweet. I hope you are adjusting to your move. It’s got to be nice living near the ocean.

    Your photos are beautiful as usual. One of these days I hope to refocus on photography and improve my skills. ‘Til then I’ll just have to slug through.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Christine. 🙂
      They did. M the Younger and his wife are renting our house. When we made the decision to rent out the house, it was a relief when they decided they would like to move in. I worried about renting to strangers. The visit was rather bittersweet. I miss the Bogs and our old home, but it’s great to be near the beach. Sometimes I get a little tired thinking about all the work we have to do in and around our new home, but being back in our old home made me realize just how good we are at renovating a house that has good bones and just needs some TLC.

      Like

  8. What a nostalgic trip “home” to the Bogs this must have been. As for insect gear, gosh, we can’t seem to go outside the house this summer without being Eaten Alive. This hasn’t happened in 20 years. It’s frustrating. So maybe next summer won’t be so challenging for you at the ranch. It may be just a more vicious insect year than most.

    Like

    1. It was, Kathy. I’ve made a second trip back and it was not nearly as bittersweet (for lack of a better word). I think I’m finally settling in a bit here at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch. 🙂

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

