Posted in Cats, Change, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Endings, Fire, Home, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Spirit, Summer, Water

Notes from the Universe

A flower for PT
A flower for PT

Have you heard of Notes from the Universe?  Go have a look.  I’ll wait.

In the meadow, a prime hunting spot.
In the meadow, a prime hunting spot.

This morning when I checked my email, I found this Note from the Universe:

I just want you to know, Robin, that those animals you’ve known, who’ve moved beyond the veils of time and space, were forever changed by your love, they’re alive and well, and they’ve banded together to ask me a favor… that I make sure you get this message.

Bark, meow, chirp, ergle –
The Universe

Forever changed, Robin… you have that effect on people, too. And trees. Shrubbery’s completely different, though.

It was a bizarre thing to read on this particular day.  Too bizarre.

PT, as we called him, taking a nap.
PT, as we called him, taking a nap.

I named the Poor Abandoned Kitty.  We called him PT, short for Poor Toonces.  He looked nothing at all like the Toonces he was named after (“Toonces the Driving Cat” from television’s Saturday Night Live), but he reminded me of Toonces.  Something in his attitude, I suppose.  Qualities of recklessness and abandon.

Over the short time that I have been here, PT has been steadily declining in health.  I’ve been feeding him, but was never able to gain his trust enough to get close to him.  As it turns out, that may be just as well.

In the heavens above
In the heavens above

PT would often disappear for two or three days at a time, and each time he returned he seemed worse than when he left.  Each time he disappeared, I thought maybe he’d gone off to die.  He reminded me of the song “The Cat Came Back” (“the cat came back, we thought he was a gonner, but the cat came back, the very next day”).

Ghost clouds
Ghost clouds

Last week I noticed PT was having trouble walking.  He would weave around a bit, stop, walk fine for a few steps, then weave some more.  Over the weekend the weaving got worse and he started stumbling.  It was heartbreaking to watch.  Poor, poor kitty.

On Monday I called the Humane Society to see if they could help.  Somewhat tearfully, I explained the situation and said this poor kitty desperately needed either to be helped or euthanized.  He’d been through enough, and I was unable to gain his trust enough to get him the help he needed.

June 2013 051a

Yesterday, around noon, Jack and Cathy from the Humane Society showed up, ready to trap PT in a humane trap.  They explained how it would be done, and showed me how to bait and work the trap in the event that they were unable to trap PT while they were here.  We couldn’t find the kitty at first.  But as Jack was baiting the trap with some particularly strong smelling mackerel, we heard a loud MEOW from up above.  PT had been napping up on the platform.  Seeing people near his little house (a playhouse we salvaged for him so he could have a place to eat and sleep), he probably thought, “Chow time!”  Or maybe he caught the scent of the fish and thought, “A treat!!”

Even the roses seem a little sad.
Even the roses seem a little sad.

As we walked away, PT came down from his perch and circled around.  He was wary and finally settled a few feet away from the trap.  The trap, by the way, was covered with an old beach towel.  When you trap a cat, they will practically kill themselves trying to get out, but if you cover the trap, the kitty will remain calm.

Jack told me to go back over to the trap, pretend to be putting out food, and do whatever it is I usually do when feeding him.  I did as instructed, talking to PT the whole time (because that’s what I do).  I ended with what I always do by saying, “I’m leaving now.  You’re safe.  Come on over and eat, baby.”

A rainbow (yesterday evening).
A rainbow (yesterday evening).

Well, I think you know by now where this is going.  We trapped PT.  The very nice people from the Humane Society took him to a local vet.  An hour later, Jack called with bad news.  PT was too sick and too wild for the vet to treat, and they were worried about the possibility of rabies.  He asked if anyone had touched the cat or been scratched by him.  The answer, thankfully, was no.

I wish people would learn to take care of their pets by having them spayed or neutered.  I wish people would have the heart and the compassion to take care of their pets in some way if they can’t take them along when they move.  I wish people would stop abandoning animals to the wild, leaving them to fend for themselves.  Some animals do okay, but most that I’ve seen, have a hard time of it out there.

Shape up people.  Please.

July 2013L 008a

Goodbye, PT.

Napping on a sunny afternoon.
Napping on a sunny afternoon.

Note:  I’m taking a break from blogging.  I’ll be back, oh, next week, maybe.  Or the week after that.  We’ll see.  Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

40 thoughts on “Notes from the Universe

  1. Thank you for noticing. PT was sent to you. Somehow they know who will help them. And you stopped. Made an effort. And did. He found kindness.
    The universe smiles.
    (Message was bizarre.That group,though, is a tad commercial. Ones like this come and go, but even small bits of good seep in from the oddest places and decorate life in a positive way.)
    Drive on Toonces! And let PT in the copilot’s seat.
    We’ll smile and hum along to “Cat Came Back”

    Like

    1. Thank you, PhilosopherMouse. I agree about the group being a tad commercial, but the Notes from the Universe are sometimes amusing (and sometime bizarrely appropriate). I wouldn’t have thought I’d get used to having PT around in such a short period of time, but I still expect him to be out there waiting by his little house for food whenever I go outside.

      Like

    1. Thank you, Shirley. I don’t think I did anything special. More like responsible. It was too sad to watch PT continue to decline in health, and someone had to do something. It just happened to fall to me to do it.

      Like

  2. I got all choked up reading this, Robin. It’s so nice to know that PT knew kindness and generosity while he was here, even if he wasn’t able to accept those gestures completely. You did the right thing, even though it was difficult.

    Like

  3. It’s really sad when people don’t take care of their pets. May PT rest in peace! And may you enjoy a week of so of blogging. And by the way, very nice pictures you posted here.

    Like

    1. It is such a sad story, Elisa. Thank you for the tears for PT. The poor kitty deserved more than a few. He’d been through a lot from the looks of him.

      Like

    1. Thank you, Christine. I found it weird, too. Timing, it seems, really is everything. I doubt that note would have meant as much if it had come a month or two ago.

      Like

  4. Oh, I have always loved the Toonces skits, so I particularly loved that you named PT after them. We have had our share of sad animal stories here lately (baby raccoon dying, robins’ nests invaded and plundered, etc.) so you have my complete sympathy, Robin. Sometimes, there is simply nothing to be done. But you did the right thing; death is always a reality but suffering can be alleviated at least. My wishes for a happy PT in another realm and a happy Robin in the current universe 🙂 Enjoy your break!

    Like

  5. Greetings Robin! I like your new name. Stunning images, as always. Sorry about PT, but you took good care of him and I’m sure that means a lot. Wishing you a great blogging break. See you soon. 🙂

    Like

  6. Hi. My Mom had a similar experience with a stray. I think that, just for a little while, the strays encountered someone who cared and because of you, had a little comfort. Jane.

    Like

  7. The Universe gave you a special message indeed. I started tearing up looking at that last photo. Hugs, Robin…PT was forever changed by your love, indeed…

    Like

  8. Sad, yet touching. As a pet lover, it’s sad to see pets not cared for … Losing pets is wrenching … and even those we are slightly attached to …. a touch post to write, but, thanks to PT, you delivered a worthy message

    Like

  9. the universe was not wrong … you touched pt´s life and his life was a bit better because you were there, even if you feel you didn´t earn his trust.
    btw, I too get his emails!

    Like

  10. Oh poor PT, but isn’t it nice to think that your message is right, that you brought some joy to PT’s final weeks on earth and he wanted to thank you? I’m going to sign up for my own messages, thank you Robin. xx

    Like

  11. Even though PT was ailing and had gone through a rough life, his last days afforded him peace, kindness and compassion because of you. Very moving post, Robin, and I do hope you find some comfort in the fact that PT found rest and comfort there with your family.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

