Posted in Air, Cats, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Home, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering

Weekend leftovers

Dinner.  (The image itself is a leftover, the food was not.)
Dinner. (The image itself is a leftover, the food was not.)

Great meals rarely start at points that all look like beginnings.  They usually pick up where something else leaves off.  This is how most of the best things are made — imagine if the world had to begin from scratch each dawn: a tree would never grow, nor would we ever get to see the etchings of gentle rings on a clamshell…  Meals’ ingredients must be allowed to topple into one another like dominos.  Broccoli stems, their florets perfectly boiled in salty water, must be simmered with olive oil and eaten with shaved Parmesan on toast; their leftover cooking liquid kept for the base for soup, studded with other vegetables, drizzled with good olive oil, with the rind of the Parmesan added for heartiness.  This continuity is the heart and soul of cooking.

~ Tamar Adler, An Everlasting Meal

A terrapin (who will not, as far as I know, become an ingredient in soup).
A terrapin (who will not, as far as I know, become an ingredient in soup).

I always wind up with leftovers, whether I’m dealing in food or photos.  With food, leftovers are easy.  I reheat, or transform them into something else.  With photos, I’m never sure.  What to do with the pictures I took of the terrapin turtle who crawled all the way up the boardwalk that leads to the back door and then tried to fit itself through the lattice covering the bottom of the deck?  How about that delicious jerked shrimp with mango salsa and a Caribbean style quinoa salad that we had for dinner over the weekend?  Will that fit in somewhere?

A bird I haven't yet identified.
A bird I haven’t yet identified.

There are birds I can’t figure out.  I thought the one above might be a Baltimore Oriole, but it doesn’t have the stripes.  Maybe an Orchard Oriole?

Pink clouds
Pink clouds

I have pink, wispy clouds in almost purple skies.

Sunset in orange
Sunset in orange

And sunsets in varying colors.

Sunset of the heart
Sunset of the heart

What to do with the Golden Hour shots in the woods?

Humidity sparkles
Humidity sparkles

Should I find a blog place for them, or should I leave them in the archives, to sleep until I need them someday?

June 2013 042a
Light in the Loblollies

This next one is easy.  I can fit it in anywhere, just about, because Karma asked to see it.

One of the cow benches at the Chesapeake Bay Farm Dairy
One of the cow benches at Chesapeake Bay Farms.  (Photo taken with Lulu.)

Have I shown you the Pocomoke River yet?  I don’t think I did.  M and I had lunch at the Riverside Grill recently.  The food was delicious, and the view was wonderful.

Pocomoke River from the deck of the Riverside Grill.  (Another Lulu shot.)
Pocomoke River from the deck of the Riverside Grill. (Another Lulu shot.)

Well, that’s enough of that.  There are always plenty of leftovers, but it doesn’t mean we have to eat them all at once.  Thank you for visiting.  I hope Tuesday has been good to you.  It’s a hot and rainy day here on the Eastern Shore.  I’ve been avoiding the great outdoors, but will force myself out there soon.  I have some beauty to show you from yesterday’s forced march as soon as I get the energy to sort through the photos.  I’m still sick, and energy is limited lately.

One way to spend a hot afternoon.  (Some of you may have seen this on Facebook, but it didn't make the blog at the time.)
One way to spend a hot afternoon. (Some of you may have seen this on Facebook, but it didn’t make the blog at the time.)

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Do you think turtles are slow?  They can really put on some speed when they want to.
Do you think turtles are slow? They can really put on some speed when they want to.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

10 thoughts on “Weekend leftovers

  1. Sorry to hear you’re still not feeling well, Robin. By the way, your dinner looks amazing? Any of that left over? I’m hungry. Need to go eat myself. (oops, my favorite photo here: sunset in orange!) Take care, my friend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Like

    1. Thank you, Kathy. As for leftovers, I’m afraid it was so good that there was barely anything left. Just a little of the quinoa salad. It’s all yours. 🙂

      Like

  2. The food looks delish!!!
    Glad to hear the turtle wouldn’t be made into soup. They are fast. I can attest to it whenever I’m walking and I wanna photograph one on a log I no sooner get my camera turned on when “splash” they’re back in the water. I just don’t have the patience.

    A cow bench? must be for people who get tired of moooooving. hehehhehehe.

    And my last 2 bits – the bird looks like some kind of Oriole – can’t figure out exactly what it is though.

    Enjoyable post as always.
    Peace. 🙂

    Like

  3. LOL, thanks for the cow bench picture, I love it! The cats look pretty darn comfy, sometimes I wish for the simplicity of a life like a cat.
    This is a fun post. I think this way sometime.
    I am intrigued by your quinoa salad. Quinoa is something I’ve wanted to try, but wasn’t sure what to do with it.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. Glad you enjoyed it (especially the bench). 🙂 Quinoa is delicious. One tip if you do decide to try it: Either buy the pre-rinsed OR be sure to rinse the heck out of it if you don’t. The first time I tried it, I didn’t rinse it nearly enough and had a few bites in which I was almost sure I was eating small rocks. lol!

      Here’s a link to the quinoa salad (although I tweaked it for our tastes and locally available fruit):

      iowagirleats.com/2012/09/04/jerk-shrimp-with-caribbean-quinoa/‎

      Like

  4. How are you feeling now, Robin? I am cruising through some of your old posts that I missed and admiring how we eat so similarly. We’re running out of leftovers here so need to create something new today. Maybe shrimp tacos?

    Like

    1. Oh yum! Shrimp tacos sound delicious, Kathy. Now I’m going to have to put those on the menu for the week. 😀 I’m feeling somewhat better. Still have a cough and stuffiness, but the worst of it (the body aches, etc.) is over.

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

