Posted in Beach, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Home, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water

From beach to bay

The shore at Chincoteague
The shore at Chincoteague

Because there’s nothing more beautiful than the way the ocean refuses to stop kissing the shoreline, no matter how many times it’s sent away.

~ Sarah Kay

Welcome Center
Welcome to Virginia.  (Photo taken using the “Mini” setting on the Lumix.  It does strange things.)

Lulu* and I went to the beach for a few hours yesterday.  We decided to go to Chicoteague in Virginia.  In terms of mileage, it’s closer to home than the upper part of Assateague Island, but the drive time turned out to be about the same (due to speed limits).  The beach we visited is actually on Assateague Island.  We had to go through Chincoteague to get there.

The road to Chicoteague is lined with billboards and powerlines.
The road to Chincoteague is lined with billboards and powerlines.

Chincoteague, it is said, is a Native American name that means “beautiful land across the water.”

Scooters appear to be popular in Chincoteague.
Scooters appear to be popular in Chincoteague.

We didn’t see much of Chincoteague itself since we were just passing through.  It’s one of those places I plan to go back and visit.

Time for a walk
Time for a walk

I went to the beach in the hope that it is true what they say about salt air and salt water: that it will cure nearly everything.  For a little while, I found that to be true.

A hole in the wave
A hole in the wave

The air and the water were soothing to my throat, my sinuses, and my soul.

This shot covers quite a few beach activities.
This shot catches quite a few beach activities.

Unfortunately, all the aches and pains and congestion (and cough) returned soon after leaving.  The respite from it all was most welcome, but I do wish it had gone for good.

June 2013L 032a

The southern part of the island is narrow, and walking from ocean to bay only takes a few minutes.

June 2013L 052a
The bay side

M received a stunt kite as a Father’s Day gift so we had to try it out.

Not where it's supposed to be.
Not where it’s supposed to be.

It took a few tries, but we finally got it up in the air.

June 2013L 051a
That’s better.

That was the fun part of the day for me.  I love flying kites, and it’s been a long time since I played with a stunt kite.  Turns out I have a knack for it.

June 2013L 071a

I also enjoyed watching the birds.  There are snails all over the bay-side beach at low tide.  Escargot for the birds.

Fish.  It's what's for dinner.
Fish. It’s what’s for dinner.

On the way out, we stopped to have a look at the Egrets.  If you look at the above photo carefully (click for the slightly larger view), you’ll see a fish wiggling around in the Egret’s beak.

June 2013 021a

That’s about it from Chincoteague and the Eastern Shore for today.  The weather continues to be hot and humid (another good reason to spend time at the beach — it’s cooler there).  We had some storms overnight and early this morning.  The world outside belongs to the deer flies and mosquitoes.  I did go for a walk this morning, but it wasn’t much fun.  I dressed appropriately, but the netting I wear over my head and face was covered with deer flies and, well, it was annoying.

Perched
Perched

Thank you for stopping by.  I hope your Monday has been smooth and easy.

June 2013 026a

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

*Lulu, for those that don’t know or need reminded, is my little Panasonic Lumix point-and-shoot camera.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

13 thoughts on “From beach to bay

  1. Just lost my whole comment Robin, teach me to click and look, ah well, lets try and start it again. How did you catch my cold Robin? At the mo my cough is finally saying bye for now, catch you later, 😉 and I feel almost human again. The sea shore is always a favourite, and I want to firmly plant my bare feet on the sand and paddle in the surf. (just dropped a chair onto my right foot and it’s got an egg shaped swelling, and HURTS like heck!! but I can stand the pain, Stoic is my middle name. Not!! 😉 ) Beautiful photo’s of the Egret too,, posed to perfection methinks, and the last one looks so wonderfully ‘moody’ I shall limp off into the sunset now, (say aww!!) Happy New trails (and hopefully cold disappearing soon) xPenx

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

