Posted in Air, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Hiking, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photo Challenge/Assignment, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water

Lines

Line of clouds
Lines (straight, broken, and curved).

Straight lines go too quickly to appreciate the pleasures of the journey.  They rush straight to their target and then die in the very moment of their triumph without having thought, loved, suffered or enjoyed themselves.  Broken lines do not know what they want.  With their caprices they cut time up, abuse routes, slash the joyous flowers and split the peaceful fruits with their corners.  It is another story with curved lines.  The song of the curved line is called happiness.

~ René Crevel

This morning's view from the dock
This morning’s view from the dock

There are lines everywhere in nature.  Straight, broken, and curvy.  The iHeartFaces photo challenge for today is “line”, but I took a little liberty of pluralizing it because while out on my walk today I realized there are lines of some kind wherever I look.

A straight line, going up.
A straight line, going up.

You may be wondering why I’m participating in the iHeartFaces challenge.  Well.  I have Karma to thank for that.  In her post Hearts ‘n’ Flowers, Karma has invited us to join the iHeartFaces photo challenge in lieu  of her usual photo challenge.  She welcomes us to do the day-by-day challenge as individual posts or come up with one big post.  Be sure to leave a link at her place (Hearts ‘n’ Flowers post) if you want to participate.  Thanks, Karma!

I won’t be participating on a daily basis.  I’m hoping to put a collage together at the end of the month.  Speaking of which, the deadline for posting links to Karma’s blog for this challenge is July 1.

Window lines
Window lines

Today’s Walk

The rain we had the other day must have benefited the deerflies, mosquitoes, and ticks.  Going out for a walk means donning a hat, long sleeves, long trousers, boots, and if you’ve got ’em, socks long enough that you can tuck the bottom of your trousers into them.  Fog yourself thoroughly with insect repellent.  I’m not sure the insects are actually repelled by it, but the experts recommend it.

One of the many insects found outside.  (I'm not sure what it is, but I do know it's not a deerfly, mosquito, or tick.)
One of the many insects found outside. (I’m not sure what it is, but I do know it’s not a deerfly, mosquito, or tick.)

Gloves are not a bad idea, either.  The deerflies, I’ve noticed, are quite attracted to my hands, especially when I’m taking photos.

Red oak leaves
Red oak leaves

Because of the situation with the insects, I may start taking a daily bike ride rather than a daily walk.  The bugs can’t find me when I’m moving on my bike, and it seems to take them a few minutes to locate me when I stop to take a picture.

In the clover
In the clover

I have not been feeling well the past few days.  I think it’s just exhaustion, nothing a little rest won’t cure.  A day at the beach might be just what I need.

Lines in the grass
Lines in the grass

That’s about it from the Eastern Shore for today.  There is not a lot new to report.  I’ve been looking at kitchen designs and trying to make decisions about counter tops, cabinets, and flooring.  I’ve also had to look at paint chips as there are one or two rooms we need to paint before we have the kitchen renovated.  M and I will be doing as much of the work as we can on our own, but we’ll let the experts take care of the things we don’t think we can handle (or handle well).

Queen Anne's Lace will be blooming soon.
Queen Anne’s Lace will be blooming soon.

The unpacking and organizing sort of continues, although we’re at a halt in some areas.  At least it’s much easier to walk around the house now (without tripping over a box!).

This morning's view of the front yard (most of which is in the conservancy program).  The house is tucked away somewhere back there.
This morning’s view of the front yard (most of which is in the conservancy program). The house is tucked away somewhere back there.

Thank you for visiting.  I hope your week has been going well so far.  I apologize if I haven’t been around to see you lately.  The satellite internet connection is so sluggish that I’m losing patience.  There’s also the difficulty with visiting blogs in which you are the master of your own domain.  I can do it, but it takes three times the amount of time (and a lot more clicks, loading, and reloading if I want to leave a comment).

I love the star shape of the leaves on the Sweet Gum trees.
I love the star shape of the leaves on the Sweet Gum trees.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

31 thoughts on “Lines

  1. well, you can be riding your bike wearing those glasses with camera incorporated !! so you don´t have to stop!! or you can make a deal with the bugs 🙂

    today I was having lunch in a deck we have at my place of work and there was a bee flying around all of us. she ended up in a coca-cola glass, don´t know how, bad luck I guess and she was sort of swimming, trying to fly away I suppose. I emptied the glass to free her and she couldn´t fly at first, so I stared at her and said “I saved your life, the least you can do is not to sting us”. I think we made a deal because she didn´t bother us again LOL

    Like

  2. Great post Robin! Lately I’m a big fan of water so the first two images are my favorites. Love the shades of blue in those two. It was nice to enjoy your walk. Although I will agree about the insects. Every time I stopped last night they attacked. 😉

    Like

  3. It seems there’s a cost for living near such beauty Robin, and insects ‘n ticks are a huge price methinks.. I wonder if the experts tell the bugs about the repellent and say’ hey, this is supposed to work… shake a leg!!! …. I think I read somewhere that there’s a huge rise in insects through the wetter weather, and that we should eat them as they’re a great source of nutrients… Now, don’t know about you, but my stomach’d rebel for sure… 😉 .. I hope you manage that day at the beach, .. sounds just the pick me up ticket my friend. Happy New trails. and warmest of hugs xPenx

    Like

  4. A day at the beach solves all kinds of problems – I suggest you apply the solution liberally. I loved the lines – you did a good job of interpreting it.

    Nancy

    Like

  5. Beautiful thoughts on lines, Robin. I’ve always been attracted to curvature, and I guess that’s why I’m also drawn to the process of life more so than the destination. 🙂

    Like

  6. You’re probably just exhausted from your move, and now to have to make decisions about the kitchen… that’s a lot of stress. Too bad about all the insect attacks while out walking. Sounds like biking is the thing to do, but then you do have to stop to take pictures. I love the picture of the window lines. 🙂

    Like

  7. I had heard the South had problems with bigger bugs, but it never occurred to me that there would be more bugs. That just seems unfair – there should be more OR they should be bigger. But the bike ride seems like a nice and efficient way to get rid of that problem! Keep us updated on the kitchen renovation, that’s going to be a really fun project … to watch … from far away…

    Like

    1. I wish you were here, Meredith. You’d love all the swatches and samples and decorating ideas. If you come up with any idea boards that scream RUSTIC, let me know. That’s the look I’ve decided we have to go for in this house.

      Like

  8. I took a beginning design course a few years back and loved it, although I’m afraid Michaelangelo I’m not. ( and I know I misspelled that but am too lazy to figure it out.)

    I haven’t been following many blogs lately; it feels good to be back again and see what everybody’s been doing. I want to catch up with yours to see how the move has gone, but won’t be able to do that today unfortunately. Soon I hope.

    I hope you are having fun with the kitchen. I know the realty of remodeling can be a pain, but it is also exciting. I hope you will show us how it’s going.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Christine. I would expect it takes a while to get back into the swing of things. It’s good to “see” you again. 🙂 You’re right about the remodeling being a pain and exciting at the same time. I took some photos in the kitchen today, but will have to try again with the morning light. I’m hoping to document parts of the process.

      Like

  9. Dang, do you think the bugs are so thick there because you are close to the water? I’m just throwing that out there because bugs were always thick when we would go fishing — it was like they were swarming.
    You make beautiful pictures from things that I would just pass by without noticing!
    Moving is always a pain, not only while it’s being done, but for a while afterwards while trying to decide what to do with stuff. Fortunately, there comes a time when all of the headache will be but a distant memory. I hope that time comes quickly for you — hope you have a wonderful weekend, and catch very little of the storm!

    Like

    1. I think that has a lot to do with it, Becky. I’ve noticed that when we go inland just a few miles, there are fewer insects (and almost no deerflies!).
      Thank you. 🙂

      Like

        1. I saw the first response in my email before you changed it, and I was just going to keep quiet. Then I saw your second response and now I’m just laughing. Thanks for giving me a chuckle this evening!

          Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

