Posted in Air, Cycling, Earth, Eastern Shore, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Polls, Quotes, Spirit, Spring

Let’s go for a spin

The driveway from the house.
The driveway from the house.

When the spirits are low, when the day appears dark, when work becomes monotonous, when hope hardly seems worth having, just mount a bicycle and go out for a spin down the road, without thought on anything but the ride you are taking.

~ Arthur Conan Doyle

It sure is flat around here.
It sure is flat around here.

Sunday morning, M and I went for our first bike ride here on the Eastern Shore.  Since it was also our first ride of the season, we decided to keep it relatively short.  We went a grand total of six miles, making our way to a nearby park, Raccoon Point, and back.

The Church in the Shire.  (Not really, but that's what I thought when I saw this cute church nestled in the trees.)
The Church in the Shire. (Not really, but that’s what I thought when I saw this cute church nestled in the trees.)

The winds were gusty on Sunday so we had some resistance on our way to the park (a lot of resistance at times).  It made up for the lack of hills in terms of getting a good workout.

Passing the church
Passing the church

I like the cute little wooden churches they have here on the Eastern Shore.  The bigger cities, such as Salisbury, might have stone churches, but out in the countryside the churches are like the one pictured above.

Look how high the corn is already!
Look how high the corn is already!

One of the interesting things about the ride was passing through a variety of landscapes.  We saw corn and wheat fields.

May 2013 008a

There were long open stretches of road.

Guinea Fowl
Guinea Fowl

There were Guinea Fowl free-ranging in someone’s front yard and driveway.  I looked up Guinea Fowl this morning and read this article about them.  I’m thinking that maybe we need some Guinea Fowl here on the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  They eat bugs.  Lots of bugs.  And we definitely have a bug problem.  Ticks, in particular, are bugging me.  We already have a coop.  All we needs are some keets to get us started.  Keets are baby guineas.

They're rather odd looking creatures, aren't they?
They’re rather odd looking creatures, aren’t they?

We also passed Thorn’s Peafowl Farm.  I didn’t see any of the peafowl, but did hear them.

Through a wooded section.
Through a wooded section.
May 2013 019a
Around the next bend.

The next photo is pretty bad.  But I have to show it to you because someone out there might be able to tell me what it is.  When we came out of the wooded section of roadway, we were in a wide open area of grasses with a few scattered trees.  Up in the sky was a silver shiny thing:

What is it, man?
What EEZ IT, man? (said in my best Ren — of Ren & Stimpy fame — voice)

Is it a weather balloon?  A weird space ship?  A drone?  Whatever it is, it sure has a strange shape.

We're getting close to Raccoon Point.
We’re getting close to Raccoon Point.

Raccoon Point is a small park on the Manokin River where you can fish or picnic.  There’s a sandy beach so I assume you can swim, too.  I didn’t see any “no swimming” signs.

Manokin River, looking out towards the Chesapeake Bay.
Manokin River, looking out towards the Chesapeake Bay.

If you were to head pretty much straight out from here, you would get to the Chesapeake Bay.  It’s hard to tell where the river ends and the bay begins.

On the beach
On the beach

That’s it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch and the Eastern Shore for today.  Thank you for visiting.  Part two of the Name the Owl in the Garden poll is below.  Thanks to everyone who has voted.  After today’s round, I’ll narrow it down to the top three for one last poll.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

This morning's view from the dock.
This morning’s view from the dock.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

19 thoughts on “Let’s go for a spin

  1. Oh! I just love posts where I get to vote on something. It makes me feel so civic!

    And this is the second time in as many days that I have come across information aboout Guinea Fowl. I’ve been thinking about adding more birds to the farm to handle the tick issue around here. I’ve considered peacocks, geese, and chickens. Maybe I should add Guinea Fowl to the list. Although, today as I was coming home from getting a haircut I passed a yard full of black vultures. They get such a bad rap, but they were quite striking and oddly beautiful. As many dead things as we have around here maybe I should invest in a pet vulture for “sky burials.”

    Hope you don’t mind steam of consciousness comments. 😉

    Like

    1. lol, Lunar Euphoria! Glad you enjoyed the voting. 🙂 I don’t mind stream of consciousness comments at all. They’re usually fun and interesting. We have a crew of vultures here. They hang out in the front part of the property. When I see them circling overhead, I remind them that I’m not dead yet. 😀

      Like

  2. Surprising how far you can ride when it’s flat. Nice tour.
    Deflated weather balloon would be my guess – some odd spring weather/storms may have battered it off course? (google to see if any weather launch stations nearby…or back in the direction where the wind was blowing from…there’s one in East TX)
    Guineas are cool! Get some.
    Ticks are usually bad when there have been animals around, but then removed…so they are really hungry….they love brush.
    Check with locals before swimming ..just to be safe
    Enjoyed the bike ride – a perfect way to create a smile!

    Like

  3. I learned about Guinea Fowl, Robin, many thanks for the link.. in fact.. they sound like natures remedy for a ‘clean up’ campaign.. all in one… I’d love to have some in our garden, but it’s small and they’d soon clear up everything methinks.. I wonder if anyone would hire out a couple? 😉 Just an idea.. 😉 .. A Guinea for hire?.. … And now, I’m off to the beach, .. your photo above has me hankering for a trip..(no matter what the weather) now, where are my sandals and sun hat?… happy new trails.. xPenx

    Like

  4. The guinea fowl is a quirky-looking bird, but I could get used to having a few around, especially knowing that they would be helping out with the bugs. 🙂 Are their eggs edible? You have some pretty flat country there, but the woods look cool and inviting and the wooden churches are picturesque. I have no clue about the object in the sky!

    Like

    1. Their eggs are edible, Barbara, but they’re smaller than a chicken egg, harder, and seasonal. Guinea hens lay eggs between March and May, and that’s it. They’re done for the year. The woods are nice and cool, even on hot days like today. 🙂

      Like

  5. Guineas are so interesting looking, and they are sure helpful with the bug population. Years ago we bought a pair of them and enjoyed them for a few weeks while they lived with us. They wandered down to a neighbor’s and took up residence there, so I guess they didn’t like what we were feeding them or something.
    That thing in the sky looks like a chrome-covered arthritic hand or something — it will be interesting to find out what on earth that is!
    What a wonderful place to go to that is only a bike ride away from you, and so many pretty roads to travel and things to see on your way there! Your pictures, as always, are beautiful!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Becky. 🙂 I’m still thinking about Guineas. The one thing holding me up at the moment is the challenge of finding a pet sitter. I’m having trouble finding one for the cats. Imagine if I said, “I need you to feed the Guineas, too.” lol! Now that I think about it, it might be easier to find someone to feed Guineas. This is farm country (seems to be the chicken farm capitol of the world).

      Like

      1. Well, it’s not like guineas are that difficult or time consuming to feed, but I understand where you’re coming from. But like you said, it might be old hat to people in the rural community where you live. I do understand about the cats — we used to think we could leave them out on the back porch (where they had access to outside) with perpetual feeders and waterers, and came back home after a weekend away to find that one of the cats didn’t like the perpetual water thingy so she knocked it over on its side and none of the cats got any water all weekend!

        Like

  6. Keep the brush and long grasses cut back around your house and you can avoid some of the ticks. We have a local organization called “Chipper Days” … neighbors helping neighbors remove brush and wood hazards (downed trees) around their homes. To helps to lower fire danger and keeping the brush cut back helps with the bugs and ticks.

    Like

    1. What a cool idea, Bearyweather! I wonder if the folks around here have anything like it. We’ve been working on the brush and finally have a pretty clear area around the house. Still, there’s a lot to do and it doesn’t seem to have helped with the deer flies. The ticks aren’t as bad, though, so that’s a plus. 🙂

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

