Posted in Dreams, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Mindfulness, Nature, Photo Challenge/Assignment, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Woods

My photography passion

Honeysuckle
Honeysuckle

Passion will move people beyond themselves, beyond their shortcomings, beyond their failures.

~ Joseph Campbell

The next day
The next day

In Scott’s Assignment 25:  Your Photography Passion (the deadline is tonight), he asks us to show him our passions whether they are centered around photography or not.  In my case, photography itself is one of my passions, and it is often involved in my other passions:  walking and/or hiking, and travel.

A Cape Breton sunrise.  Nova Scotia.  June 2012.
A Cape Breton sunrise. Nova Scotia. June 2012.

Finding one’s voice is a process of finding one’s passion.

~ Terry Tempest Williams

Peony hidden in the grass

I was going to write that nature is my photography passion, and that is true, but there is something else.  I used to take photos of objects or beings (and still do):  flowers, landscapes, water, trees, animals, and more.  Now I am drawn more towards light and shadow, patterns and textures, and movement (or the appearance of movement).

Rustling
Green flames
Rustling, ballet style
Green flames, ballet style

Thank you, Scott, for another great challenge.  Please pardon me for not putting a link on your post.  I’m having trouble accessing your blog.  The same is true for other blogs that I know and love where the bloggers are masters of their own domains.  My satellite connection won’t, well, connect (it gets hung up at “r-login.wordpress.com”).  I think I may have found a way around it, but don’t have time to try it today.

It's a jungle out there
It’s a jungle out there

Thank you to everyone else for all your visits, your comments, your likes, and great advice.  Although it’s another scorcher here today, my attitude has improved since yesterday’s whinge.  I’m learning to slow down when it’s this hot and humid.  It’s been so long since I’ve lived south of the Mason-Dixon Line that I’d forgotten how loose and easy one’s lifestyle should be during the summer months.

Today's view from the dock where I was able to catch a nice breeze while watching the birds fly in and the turtles swim in the creek.
Today’s view from the dock where I was able to catch a nice breeze while watching the birds fly overhead and the turtles swim in the creek.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

31 thoughts on “My photography passion

  1. Your obsession brings some beautiful results Robin. So pleased to hear you are not feeling so down today. I’m sitting at my computer shivering this morning! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Joanne. 🙂 I’m at my computer sweating this morning, but there’s good news ahead. The air conditioning guys had a cancellation and they’ve bumped us up. They’ll be here soon.

      Like

  2. Stunning, Robin. I could almost smell the honeysuckle. I’m still waiting to meet so you can show me how to use my camera. LOL. Humid today again, so I know how you feel. At least we both are near the water.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Susan. 🙂 Hopefully we can get together sometime now that I’m much closer. We can go on a photo walk. I am so glad the weather is finally cooling off a bit. I wasn’t quite prepared for the heat and humidity just yet.
      I’ve been trying to comment on your blog, but haven’t had much success. Giving it another try now. Maybe it will work this time. 😀

      Like

  3. Robin, I have no idea if you were referencing this when you mentioned bloggers being masters of their domains, but I’m pretty sure we have similar senses of humor, and I chuckled to myself when I read that.

    You have a gorgeous selection to show your passions!

    Like

    1. LOL, Karma! I always think of that when I’m logged in to my WP Dashboard and see the message about being the master of my own domain.
      Thank you! 🙂

      Like

  4. Love the quotes! The image of the peony is beautiful. Your ‘green flames, ballet style’ really caught my eye. Visually captivating. I have been exploring images very similar to what you have created, either through intentional camera movement or playing with the shutter speed. I look forward to what you’ll create next.

    Like

  5. You do have a real talent with your passion! You know the old adage about loving what you do.
    If you took a notion to do a few tutorials on your methods in photography, there are a lot of people (including me) that would be all over it!
    Btw, your header is neat!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Becky. 🙂 And please excuse me for being so late to reply. I’m still catching up after the move. As for tutorials, I’ve done a few and have a hard time explaining what I do (because I don’t know all of the technical jargon — just enough of it to be dangerous…lol!). Here’s one I did while still posting on my old blog (Life in the Bogs):

      http://bogsofohio.wordpress.com/2012/10/12/autumn-leaves-or-how-i-did-that/

      Now that I look, it’s the only one I’ve done. Hmmm… might have to think about this.

      Like

      1. Well, you’re talking to the Queen of late everything, lol! I really like your pictures so well that I was ecstatic to read your tutorial! I bookmarked it, and then downloaded Picasa so I could start seeing what mischief I could get into with that! Thanks so much for giving me the link, and I am excited that you are at least thinking about the possibility of future tutorials!

        Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

