Posted in Beginnings, Cats, Change, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Spirit, Spring, The Big Move, Travel, Walking & Wandering

The ups, the downs, the all-arounds

The move from Breezy Acres to Back East has been filled with highs, lows, and everything in between.  What amazes me is how much has been packed (figuratively and literally) into a short period of time.  I know it’s only been two days since we left the Bogs, but it feels like weeks have flown by.

The drive out here, with Izzy and Bella Cats hogging the back seat of the car, was uneventful.  The kitties settled down into states of near-panic and stayed frozen for the entire 8.5 hours.  Our stops were less frequent than usual for the sake of the cats.  It felt wonderful to get out of the car and stretch once we arrived.  Izzy and Bella seemed happy at first, too.  It turned out to be relief more than happiness.

Bella adjusted rather quickly, but poor Izzy, skittish to begin with, has been terrified.  She’s been huddled in a corner of a closet in the master bathroom since we got here.  After not eating or drinking for almost 48 hours, I tricked her into having something by opening a can of tuna packed in water, and giving her the water with a little of the fish.  It’s her favorite treat, and covered the needs of hydration and nourishment.  Izzy has perked up, but continues to nest in the closet.  That’s okay.  When she’s ready, she’ll venture out.  In the meantime, her demeanor has improved, and she’s eating and drinking water normally.

The Drama Llama (let’s call him Rudy ) entered with the movers, and Drama Llama II (Burt) entered the picture when we had the heat pump (our heating and cooling system) inspected today because it does not work.

It took most of yesterday morning to straighten things out, but Rudy was kindly led out of here to graze elsewhere so the movers could begin bringing in our Stuff.  Burt (Drama Llama II) may not be so easily banished.  Burt will be expensive if it turns out we don’t have a leg to stand on.  The Nice People we bought the house and property from failed to disclose certain things, but who knows if that will mean anything?  If it means nothing legally, it will mean putting off something else that needs to be done as soon as possible:  the kitchen renovation. This kitchen is not made for the kind of cooking I do (actual cooking of whole foods and not just reheating or frying), but we can talk about all that another time.

My own ups and downs and all-arounds have accompanied these things, but now that all our worldly goods are stuffed into the house and the cats have settled down, I’m finding some equanimity .  I’m surprised at how quickly that happened.  For the first 24 hours or so, I was beginning to question our decision to buy this house, followed by questioning our decision to move.  With all the obstacles we had to contend with to purchase this place, I wondered if we had failed to heed the signs and signals.  Perhaps we should have backed off at the first inkling of trouble.

I cried over it for a while, letting the tears do their healing thing.  And then, when we had the beginnings of our belongings in the house, when Izzy began to eat, when I walked around outside, it began to feel right again.

We are going to have to work hard.  I recently read somewhere that the Dali Lama said the answer to life’s problems is in movement.  (I cannot find a source for that so please don’t take it as gospel truth.  It’s one of those things that stuck in my head, and I could be wrong.)  There will be a lot of movement going on Back East.  As soon as my computer is up and running, I will be able to show you how much work (movement) will need to be done.

The coming together is going to take a while, but there is a sureness in my gut, in my heart, that it will happen.  I know there will be more ups, downs, and all-arounds.  That’s life.  The key will be finding my own balance and sense of sureness so that the gusty ups, downs, and all-arounds won’t blow me away.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

30 thoughts on “The ups, the downs, the all-arounds

  1. So glad you all arrived safely, Robin! I can tell you right now, I’d have had more than one good crying jag before I got somewhere back near centered…but a good walk helps speed the process.
    Keep going, it’ll all be worth it 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Marie. 🙂 To be honest, there were a few crying jags before we got here. I have to keep reminding myself that although things are not perfect, it could be worse.

      Like

  2. So pleased to know that you all arrived safe and sound. I’d been wondering how Izzy and Bella were getting on. Poor Izzy, she must be wondering what the heck has happened. Do you remember the sit-com “Cheers”? It was on TV here for many years, around twenty-plus years ago, and every night when I watched the show (it was on late, and I would watch it alone) when the song came on I would cry my eyes out when they reached the line, “You want to go where everybody knows your name”. I don’t know whether the crying helped or not, but it did pass, so you are not alone in your up and down feelings. Everything will work out eventually, you’ll see. Sending you a cyber-hug today.

    Like

    1. Did I mention that we had just moved up north, having lived in Sydney for fifteen years? No? That’s why I felt weepy, plus I was seven months pregnant at the time. 🙂

      Like

      1. Thank you so much for the cyber-hug, Joanne. 🙂 I think just being pregnant makes one weepy. With a move going on at the same time, it would have been a wonder if you weren’t weepy!

        Like

  3. yes, sending hugs from here too, so much movement needed robin, but it always looked like that from your photos, a big task to create a home Back East for you and the kitties … and not quite like having a blank slate … so much to do to get back to tors before your creativity makes it your own … tears are so helpful in times of change … like hugs and deep breaths … don’t rush yourself dear … and i had to smile about the kitchen, i can just picture it!

    Like

  4. Glad you are feeling better about everything, Robin. And glad the kitties are becoming more comfortable in your new home. We will be here to listen (read) whether things are going well or not so well. Thanks for sharing your adventure with us!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karen. 🙂 I think it may turn out to be more of an adventure than I anticipated. Seems like there’s something happening all the time. I’m going to need a vacation soon. lol!

      Like

  5. Glad your move was safe. Sorry about the “drama llama’s”. looking forward to more pictures. It’s always frustrating when things are not disclosed (probably just for the sake of making the sale). I am confident that you and M will weather these little storms. Overall – sounds like you are blessed. And it is amazing how movement can change ones perspective on things.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Terry. You’re right. Overall, I am blessed. It’s important for me to remember that (especially when the drama llama enters the picture). Thank you for the reminder. 🙂

      Like

  6. I only moved to the next county and I was nearly a basket case. I think that comes with the loss of familiarity and knowing what is back where you left.

    I’m glad you are safe and relatively sound ;). I look forward to how wonderful life is ‘back east’. 🙂

    Like

  7. Good to know you’re home safe. Even if home feels a little rough around the edges. Big moves are always emotional I think. You probably feel a little (or a lot) like Izzy and wish you could huddle in the closet until it’s all better. Take baby steps. If you think about the whole huge list of things you need to do it will be overwhelming. Baby steps will get you there. Hugs.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Dawn. I’m going to take your advice, and take baby steps. (You’re right, too, about me wanting to huddle in the closet at times. lol!)

      Like

  8. Highs and lows Robin, always they come in pairs when moving, I hope to goodness that everything is sorted and any worries are unfounded.. Meanwhile it’s good to read that Bella and now Izzy, are settling in, slowly but surely… and I hope too that you find the inner balance you need… You are the most balanced sounding person I know., so I’m routing for you against the Drama Llama’s… hugs aplenty and happy new trails… xPenx

    Like

  9. Hi Robin. Sometimes putting things right can be so overwhelming. I’ve learned that you just have to work on one square meter at a time. I’d say your new place has good ‘bones’ and that’s half the battle. Jane

    Like

  10. New beginnings are bittersweet because, as much as it’s exciting to have an adventure, it means you have to leave some things behind that you’d rather not. We still ache for our beloved San Antonio, but we know we did the right thing moving here because it put us closer to the children and I get to see my brother and his family. You will find peace. I just know it.

    Like

  11. Robin, I thin k you remembered correctly… one of the commitments in the “path” of Tibetan Buddhist monks is “effort”… sometimes called “joyful effort.” It’s one of the “6 Perfections”..qualities monks work on “perfecting”….I notice that I’m often not able to access that “joyful” sense…. any kind of effort is positive…just plodding along one foot in front of the other. : ) I’ve had this lightcatcher in my window for several years…for courage and inspiration. http://pocketperspectives.wordpress.com/2013/01/10/living-with-generosity-ethics-patience-joyful-effort-concentration-and-wisdom-2/

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

