Posted in Beginnings, Change, Earth, Family, Fire, Mindfulness, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering

A quick visit

Imagine
Imagine

If you realize that all things change, there is nothing you will try to hold onto.

~ Tao Te Ching

Spring conjures
Spring conjures

I’m off for a quick visit with my granddaughters this evening.  It means a total of five hours of drive time to get there and back, but it’s worth the time to grab a few hugs and kisses, listen to giggles, and watch my oldest granddaughter dance at a charity event.

Envision
Envision

The photos are from yesterday.  As are the words.  I’ve scheduled this post to go out for me.  I wanted to show you some more scenes from yesterday’s party.

Cherry blossoms
Cherry blossoms

Just when summer gets perfect — fresh nights, soft sun, casual breezes, crushingly full and quietly cooling trees, empty beaches, and free weekends — it ends.  Life is like that too.  Just when we get it right, it starts to change.  The job gets easy and we know just how to do it, and they tell us we’re retired.  The children grow up and get reasonable and they leave home, just when it’s nice to have them around. . . That’s life on the edge of autumn.  And that’s beautiful — if we have the humility for it.

~ Joan Chittister

The Bluets have been spreading around the edge of the pond.
The Bluets have been spreading around the edge of the pond.

I took a lot of photos yesterday, and I like and want to share them all.  Perhaps that’s because I’m storing memories.

Happy Dandelions
Happy Dandelions

This is the Big Push Weekend.  We’ll be packing up the kitchen, and then gathering up all the odds and ends that didn’t make their way into a box.  It’s amazing how many odds and ends there are.

Woodland violets
Woodland violets

I’ll be back if I find the time.  There are still party images to share, and I’ll continue taking my daily walks although I’m not sure I’ll be taking quite as many photos now that time is at a premium.

Weeping Cherry Tree
Weeping Cherry Tree

Thank you for visiting, and carrying on with the goodbye party.  Have a delightful day, evening, night… whenever and wherever you are on the spectrum of time.  🙂

I wish you could smell the perfume of the apple blossoms.  It's heavenly.
I wish you could smell the perfume of the apple blossoms. It’s heavenly.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

6 thoughts on “A quick visit

  1. I know Dandelions are intrusive… and if you leave them they’re everywhere in a garden, but in the wild , wow , such a glorious shining out yellow… Wonderfully colourful and feast to the eyes ;pictures Robin. Have a fun-filled time with the family… and catch up with you soon… xPenx

    Like

  2. Thank you so much everyone! Sorry about the one-size-fits-all thank you’s of late. Life is hectic right now. But I do want you to know that I’m reading and appreciate your comments. They are keeping me slightly sane. lol!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

