Posted in Beginnings, Change, Critters, Earth, Mindfulness, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water, Woods

Monday meditation

April 2013 003a

The mind can go in a thousand directions, but on this beautiful path, I walk in peace.  With each step, the wind blows.  With each step, a flower blooms.

~ Thich Nhat Hanh

Electric grass
Electric grass

I haven’t written much about it lately, but I have continued with my daily meditation challenge.  Meditation is keeping me sane while all about feels like chaos.  (That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.)

Gauging the rain
Gauging the rain

Yoga, exercise, and getting outside every day help as well.  There was a brief period when I almost gave up on all but the meditation, and even that wasn’t going in a good direction as I would find myself rushing through it, unable to settle.  Sometimes it’s difficult to de-stress when you’re stressed.

Baby seeds on the maple
Baby seeds on a maple tree

 

If you want to conquer the anxiety of life, live in the moment, live in the breath.

~ Amit Ray, Om Chanting and Meditation

The delicacy of the dogwood
The delicacy of the dogwood

I have tried a couple of different methods of meditating.   By far the best for me seems to be a walking meditation rather than seated.  I am still practicing seated meditation (because that’s the challenge for this year), but a slow walk outdoors, conscious of my breathing and my footsteps, does more to calm my mind and spirit than any other approach.

Looks like the Green Man has been playing in the woods.
Looks like the Green Man has been playing in the woods.

 

Above all, be at ease, be as natural and spacious as possible.  Slip quietly out of the noose of your habitual anxious self, release all grasping, and relax into your true nature.  Think of your ordinary emotional, thought-ridden self as a block of ice or a slab of butter left out in the sun.  If you are feeling hard and cold, let this aggression melt away in the sunlight of your meditation.  Let peace work on you and enable you to gather your scattered mind into the mindfulness of Calm Abiding, and awaken in you the awareness and insight of Clear Seeing.  And you will find all your negativity disarmed, your aggression dissolved, and your confusion evaporating slowly like mist into the vast and stainless sky of your absolute nature.

~ Sogyal Rinpoche, The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying

The willow weeps in green
The willow weeps in green

I love the idea of allowing peace to work on me.  That’s really all it takes, isn’t it?  An allowance or willingness to let go, to “melt away in the sunlight of your meditation.”

A robin waits in the wisteria.
A robin waits in the wisteria vine.

I reckon that’s it for today’s rambles around the pond.  It’s been raining off and on for most of the day even though the weather people said it would clear up this afternoon.  Maybe we’ll see the sun tomorrow.  I noticed there are a lot of asparagus spears pushing up out of the dirt in the garden.  With some sun and warmth, we might have enough to serve with dinner tomorrow.

Happy dandelions dancing in the grass.
Happy dandelions dancing in the grass.

Thank you for visiting and joining me for another walk.  We only have another week or two of walks around Breezy Acres before the Big Move to the Eastern Shore.  Let’s enjoy it while we can.  Not that we have to say goodbye to the Bogs forever, but I don’t think I’ll be coming back too soon after the move.  Settling into a new place takes time.

Baby maple leaves on the purple maple.
Baby maple leaves on the purple maple.

Have a delightful day, evening, night… whenever and wherever you are on the spectrum of time.  🙂

Aren't they cute?
Aren’t they cute?

 

The act of meditation is being spacious.

~ Sogyal Rinpoche

A flower from last April.
A flower from last April.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

10 thoughts on “Monday meditation

  1. The header is amazing! Vibrant and glowing with life and energy is an understatement.
    To me, walking outside is this quote.
    ” Let peace work on you and enable you to gather your scattered mind into the mindfulness of Calm Abiding, and awaken in you the awareness and insight of Clear Seeing”
    Happy thoughts!

    Like

  2. I rushed my son out the front door to go to school, walked back inside and read this Robin, and just the simple act of reading your calm words has melted me, after the hustle and bustle of morning family life. I’ll be back later to read this again though. If it can have that affect on me when slightly stressed, imagine the power of your words when the day has advanced into calmness. No wonder you enjoy meditation so much. 🙂

    Like

  3. Lovely photos, Robin! I always enjoy your nature photos. Seeing northern Ohio through your eyes has been so comforting to me. I miss the rural beauty of my childhood home (which is not far from your area). I feel a little sad that you are moving, but glad the new location is a good opportunity for you. Best wishes for much happiness in your new home and looking forward to your blog posts from the coast!

    Like

  4. i love your quotes (as usual!) each one taking me into my true nature of spacious calm awareness … ‘the vast and stainless sky of your absolute nature’ …. melting any edges of solidity, of identification with form … thank you dear robin 🙂

    Like

  5. I think I shall miss the Bogs, as it’s where I first found you, and walked um…the walks… 🙂 But changes afoot and new horizons,… Peace and calmness be yours, Robin, I know moving is one of the most stressful things, (probably top of the top ten methinks) but I hope everything will go smoothly… happy trails to you and yours… xPenx

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

