Posted in Beginnings, Change, Critters, Earth, Fire, Mindfulness, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Pond, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water

Around the pond

Water irises
Water irises and ripples on the pond

When was the last time you spent a quiet moment just doing nothing — just sitting and looking at the sea, or watching the wind blow the tree limbs, or waves rippling on a pond, a flickering candle or children playing in the park?

~ Ralph Marston

Willow tree limbs blowing in the wind
Willow tree limbs blowing in the wind

I have a confession to make.

Weeping cherry tree blossoms
Weeping cherry tree blossoms

I have been slackmongering for the past day or so.  I know.  That’s not a word.  I made it up several years ago, and I like it because it fits some occasions.  You might be wondering what occasions and what it could mean.

Grape Hyacinths are popping up in the lawn
Grape Hyacinths are popping up in the lawn

Bascially, it means I’ve been slacking off.  Not doing my job.  Lolling around.  Being lazy.

Maple tree blossoms
Maple tree blossoms

We revel in the laxness of the path we take.

~ Charles Baudelaire

Leafing
Leafing

I don’t feel one bit guilty about it, either.  Perhaps I should.  But I don’t.  My horoscope for today suggested I could use a respite, and who am I to argue with that?

Apple blossoms
Apple blossoms

The past few weeks have been filled with stress and hard work.  It’s nice to take a little time off to enjoy the warmth of the sunshine, the freshness of the breezes, and to have a good look around the pond and Breezy Acres to see what changes Spring has wrought.

More apple blossoms
More apple blossoms

The apple trees and dogwood are beginning to blossom.  The asparagus spears are starting to show the tips of their heads.

A daff in the woods
A daff in the woods

Most of the trees are leafing now, and there are hundreds of white and yellow daffodils blooming the woods.  The brilliant yellow daffodils and the hyacinths are finished, but you’ll find little grape hyacinths sprouting up all over the yard.  There are a few purple violets here and there, too.

April 2013 031a

It is a lovely, blue-sky day here in the Bogs.  A good day to slackmonger and absorb the beauty of spring with all the senses.

Leafing out over the water
Leafing out over the water

I took a very slow walk around the pond, the meadows, and the future woods, listening to the birds sing, and feeling the squishiness of the ground beneath my boots.

Dogwood awakening
Dogwood awakening

And now, feeling refreshed and renewed, I’ll get back to the packing and cleaning.

Today's view of the pond
Today’s view of the pond

Thank you so much for joining me on a walk around the pond on this beautiful day.  I hope you found a little time to stop and admire Mother Nature’s handiwork at some point throughout your day.

Drifting
Drifting

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Harbinger of spring
Harbinger of spring
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

18 thoughts on “Around the pond

  1. ’twas a pleasure walking ’round with you Robin, and see everything through your eyes.. and camera, of course.. Lazy days are to be enjoyed and treasured… I sometimes feel the urge to dust and vacuum thro’ the week, but I fight it heroically… 😉 and leave it ’till the weekend… Drat!! It’s the weekend already?… Oh well, I’ve taken my deep breath…. I shall go and do my duty… hugs aplenty… xPenx

    Like

  2. Of course there will be days when you feel as if you are slackmongering Robin, when your body tells you “okay, that’s it, that’s enough work, give me a break!” And you weren’t the only one who benefitted from your walk around Breezy Acres, I’ve enjoyed seeing the plants breaking out in spring blooms. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Joanne. 🙂 It’s hard to take the much-needed breaks at this point because there is so much to do, but I’m glad I took this one because it will keep me going until we finish this move.

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

