Posted in Air, Beginnings, Change, Earth, Fire, From the Archives, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering

This and that

Bouquet2

When the winds of March are wakening the crocuses and crickets,
Did you ever find a fairy near some budding little thickets,…
And when she sees you creeping up to get a closer peek
She tumbles through the daffodils, a playing hide and seek.

~ Marjorie Barrows

It’s April, not March, of course.  But there were no daffodils for the fairies to tumble through during the month of March.  None that were blooming, at any rate.

Red-Winged Blackbird
Red-Winged Blackbird

We saw the sun this morning.  It was a lovely thing to see, making the 30’s seem a little warmer simply by bringing light into the picture.  It’s warmed up a little throughout the day, but the clouds have taken over the sky.

Neighborhood barn (April 2011).
Neighborhood Barn (April 2011).

I found this picture of the Neighborhood Barn in my archives.  (Once again, all of the images are from the archives due to a lightning strike injuring my computer.)  I really should take a walk down that way on some sunny morning and get another photo of it.  Much has changed in two years time.  Some of the walls have fallen down and opened up great gaps.  I bet you can see inside the barn now.

A bouquet for you
A bouquet for you

Looking back, I can see how impatient I am for spring to arrive.  Last year was a fluke.  Spring popped in early, and life came bursting forth in a shorter period of time than is usual.  In the years before, the hyacinths had just opened around this time in April.  I can see that we’re not as far behind as I thought we were.  I bet I’ll find the first asparagus spear peeking up out of the ground soon.  (Evidence from the archives shows that they usually start to come up on or around April 16.)

On this day in 2011
On this day in 2011

Apparently I was fascinated with the catkins on the pussy willows back in 2011.  You wouldn’t believe how many images of them I have.  Or maybe you would.

Catkins

Surely I’m not the only one who obsesses that way, am I?

Catkins2

Everything that anyone would ever look for is usually where they find it.

~ Margaret Wise Brown

Catkins3

That’s it from me and from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for visiting.  I’ll be posting daily until Wednesday, time permitting.  Then I’m off to the Eastern Shore of Maryland for a week or so, and I don’t think I’ll have access to the internet.  Even if I do, I don’t think I’ll have time for it.

The future as seen from the past.
The future as seen from the past.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Forsythia
Forsythia
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

22 thoughts on “This and that

    1. The autumn fairies are just as beautiful as the daffodil fairies, Christine. Now that you’ve mentioned the autumn fairies, I’m wondering how different they’ll be around my new home. That’s one more thing to look forward to. 🙂

      Like

  1. I would have no idea WHO could possibly take tons of pictures because they were so enthralled with. I mean, hello – I certainly don’t know anyone who went to the botanical and took 675 shots in two hours because she was so fascinated with everything (sung to the tune of liar liar pants on fire)!

    Seriously though – I find it’s good to take a lot of pictures when something is singing that many little songs to you. The next opportunity to photograph them might not be for a while (rain, damage, lack of time).

    Nancy

    Like

    1. LOL, Nancy! I’ve done that. I must have about 100,000 photos of flowers from visits to gardens or found on hikes or around the Bogs. You’re so right about taking the opportunity when it presents itself. Sometimes that window doesn’t stay open long at all.

      Like

    1. So true, Marie. 🙂 I didn’t get out to the garden to look today. I’m almost willing to bet that my asparagus will come up while I’m away. It’ll probably be 6 feet tall and ferned out when I return.

      Like

  2. After our very long winter and new blizzard last night, I will be obsessed taking a million pictures of anything I can find that is not white. I can hardly wait to see some tree buds or pussy willows … afraid it is still going to be quite awhile here.

    Like

  3. Oh no Robin, you weren’t the only one obsessing over you catkins. I clearly remember commenting constantly about your photos of them!

    You are managing to add posts far more often than I imagined you would. How is the packing coming along? I do hope you can find the time to take some photos in Maryland and also have time to add a post about your travels when you return to Ohio. I’m really looking forward to learning about and seeing your new area. It will be interesting to see how your neighbours old barn looks these days too. 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s right, Joanne! I’d forgotten you enjoyed them as much as I did. 🙂 As for finding time to post, I’m zipping off these posts whenever I can find a few minutes here or there. I have to take frequent breaks when packing so I use them to work on my blog posts (which are usually already written to some degree inside my head). The images have been fairly easy to add since some were already resized and used in older posts in my older blog. I just had to change the copyright thingie and they were good to go.

      Like

  4. Lovely photo’s Robin, and the sun’s shining down on us too… In fact it’s turned my hair blonder *cough* … ( well, with a little help from my ever persuasive hairdresser… 😉 ) …
    Just been scrolling up and down again, and the Red Winged Blackbird caught my eye, reminding me that Bully Black hasn’t been eating the suet pellets and dried mealworms we put out… I hope he’s ok, he’s such a character… I shall keep my eyes peeled, (what a strange term that is ) … Happy trails ….xPenx

    Like

    1. LOL, Pen! The sun, with the help of my hairdresser, turned my hair red today. 😉 I think that’s a strange term, too. It doesn’t present a very good visual either — peeled eyes.

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

