Posted in Air, Beginnings, Change, Digital Art, Dreams, Earth, Fire, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Travel, Walking & Wandering, Water

Can a dream change your life?

Bridge of dreams
Bridge of dreams

The best thing about dreams is that fleeting moment, when you are between asleep and awake, when you don’t know the difference between reality and fantasy, when for just that one moment you feel with your entire soul that the dream is reality, and it really happened.

~ James Arthur Baldwin

Dreamy orchids
Dreamy orchids

Do you think a dream can change your life?  I don’t mean the waking dreams, the goals, the ambitions, the plans.  I know that many dreams of that kind have changed many lives.  In a way, it’s how the famous (and maybe not so famous) become famous (or not so famous) for their deeds, their talents, or their ideas.  They follow their dream.

I’m asking about the dreams we have when we sleep.  Is it possible to have a dream that changes how you think about yourself and your life?  A dream that teaches you, among other things, compassion for the one person you don’t always think of in terms of compassion — yourself?

Dreaming by the lake
Dreaming by the lake

Around 4:30 this morning I was lying in bed awake, thinking I might get up.  I decided to give sleep one more chance. a few more minutes to find me and then I’d go find something else to do if sleep remained elusive.

Watergarden

I must have fallen asleep immediately as I don’t recall having another thought about it. The next thing I remember is being deep within a dream.  It was one of the most profound dreams I’ve ever had.

Watergarden3

Dreams are more real than reality itself, they’re closer to the self.

~ Gao Xingjian

Watergarden4

Because it was a penetrating, almost enlightening, experience, I’m not going to share too many details of the dream.  I will tell you that in this dream I met four teachers although at first I thought there were three.  Upon exploring the dream, I realized that the woman who introduced me to The Three was a teacher as well.  Lessons come in many different forms and through many different people, don’t they?

Sea of dreams
Sea of dreams

I woke up with every detail of the dream firmly etched in my mind.  Usually the details of a dream start to fade right away, but not this one.  The energy of the dream has stayed with me throughout the day, providing the catalyst for an epiphany or two or three.  The dream opened a door that I want to step through in order to explore what is on the other side.

Balance at night
Balance at night

Dreams are illustrations… from the book your soul is writing about you.

~ Marsha Norman

Dreams in flight
Dreams in flight

On a more practical (less woo-woo) note, it’s chilly here in the Bogs today.  Cloudy, windy, with the occasional rain shower.  I wouldn’t be surprised if it snowed.  Well, maybe I’d be surprised.  We’re almost half way through April which might not mean much because we’ve had snow flurries as late as May.

Three
Three

Thank you for dropping by on this chilly Saturday, and taking a short walk through my dreams.  The images used in this post are courtesy of an external hard drive where I have photos from 2009-2011 backed up.  Tomorrow I might take the time to upload a few new images from my walks of the past few days, but I wouldn’t count on it.  I’m kind of enjoying exploring the archives.  Some of the photos were taken at the Cleveland Botanical Garden, some in Colorado, some in California, and some here at Breezy Acres.

Hyacinth (taken on this date in 2011).
Hyacinth (taken on this date in 2011).

Have a delightful day, evening, night… wherever and whenever you are on the spectrum of time.  And sweet dreams.  🙂

Maple blossoms (taken on this date in 2011).
Maple blossoms (taken on this date in 2011).
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

27 thoughts on “Can a dream change your life?

  1. lovely photos from the archives robin … such wonderful news about the dream .. i am sure you are allowing every nuance to soak in and reveal itself to you … and will do over the months to come … my flying dream is unraveling its meaning to me as the weeks pass … now i have an opportunity to teach meditation in town to a new population … exciting!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Christine. 🙂 I think this dream will be with me for a long time. And yes, how exciting that your flying dream is taking you to new people. 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m so happy for you having that dream and hope you’ll gain tremendous benefit from that it. I think there can be profound lessons and insights in dreams and it sounds like there are those in this one you had this morning.
    I’ve had several of those vivid, memorable early morning dreams, too….sometimes with “teachers” in them, too. Some are easier to figure out than others.

    Like

  3. You’re very fortunate that you were given such a lovely dream. To me a dream like that is a gift especially when the dream’s so vivid that you remembered it all day. 4 teachers! Fantastic!
    Your photos are wonderful.

    Like

    1. Thank you, CM. 🙂 My brain isn’t very chatty lately either. It’s off packing boxes. Too bad that mental packing doesn’t work the same way as physical packing. lol!

      Like

  4. Your photos from the archives are wonderful. I wonder why you’re going back to archives? Maybe plumbing the subconscious for something that ties to that dream. It’s like a puzzle and I hope it will continue to unfold for you.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Cathy. 🙂 I have to use photos from my archives right now because my computer was struck by lightning a few days ago. I’m using an old laptop and an external hard drive that has old photos on it. I could probably upload new stuff to the laptop, but prefer not to. I’m still walking every day and taking photos so I’ll have images from our last weeks here in the Bogs to take with me when we move next month.

      Like

      1. Oh no, Robin. How on earth was your computer struck by lightning??? That’s a bummer. You’re really going to miss the Bogs, but I think you’ll love exploring your new home on the Eastern Shore. 🙂

        Like

  5. You’ve given your photos here quite a fantasy-like touch! What a beautiful way to illustrate a post about a dream. I’ve never felt so deeply touched by a dream – I hope it does wonderful things for you!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. 🙂 Since I don’t have my computer and Photoshop right now, I’ve been playing with old photos in Pixlr online. Pixlr makes it easy to get that fantasy-like touch.

      Like

  6. I have had two or three dreams…maybe more….now that I think about it..that I have remembered years later. Some of them are wonderful, others just confusing or scary. All of them have lessons.

    Love your photos…sometimes I spend hours looking at my photo archives. Good memories there…

    Like

  7. I love seeing your photos from the archives – it’s a frequent source of joy for me to pick a folder and see the photos of a tiny frame of my life. Memory-provokers.

    And dreams? Oh yes, I have those kinds of dreams. Vivid, full of conversation and places and color and full of meaning. Yes, I’ve had several dreams that were life changing — including a string of dreams I had several years ago, still vivid, about the desert! 🙂

    Like

  8. LOVE the woo-woo dream stuff! How powerful and exciting for you, Robin. I truly believe that sleeping dreams can change our lives, as well as the waking dreams and goals of course. Can’t wait to hear if/when you explore what’s on the other side of that door. 🙂

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

