Posted in Air, Beginnings, Change, Digital Art, Earth, Fire, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Water, Woods

Lightning Strikes

In a tunnel
In a tunnel

If lightning is the anger of the gods, then the gods are concerned mostly about trees.

~ Lao Tzu

Somewhere near Pittsburgh, sometime last year.
Somewhere near Pittsburgh, sometime last year.

We’ve had some crazy weather here in the Bogs the last couple of days.

Last summer
Last summer

On Wednesday afternoon I decided to make a big pot of minestrone soup.  I was on a mission to clean out some of the veggies in the fridge, and soup is always a good way to purge without waste.

All I have right now is last summer
All I have right now is last summer

It was not really a soup kind of day.  It was quite warm and humid, but the weather folks were predicting storms and a cold front so I figured the soup would come in handy when the temperature dropped back into the 40’s and snow flurries had once again popped back into the forecast.

On a dirt road
On a dirt road

I was in the kitchen, chopping vegetables and pouring them into the soup pot when there was, simultaneously, an incredibly bright flash of light, a loud boom, a booming CRACK that made my ears ring, all followed by the scent of ozone in the air.  The house shook and for a nanosecond, I thought lightning had somehow landed in the kitchen.

On a trail
On a trail

I gotta tell ya, I am so glad my heart is strong and working properly.  Otherwise, I would have died of fright right then and there.  As it was, I shook for a while afterwards.

July2012 027a

I walked around the house, looking to see if anything was on fire.  The odor of ozone was strongest in the kitchen, near the front door (which is near the kitchen), and in the basement.  I did not find any smoke or flames, thank goodness.

Near a river
Near a river

What I did eventually discover was that the lightning must have traveled in via the cable, fried the cable modem, burned up the router, and tried to kill my computer.  So much for all those widgets we use that are supposed to prevent a surge.

July2012 033a

The good news is that I’m alive, the house didn’t burn down, and the computer is being fixed.  The hard drive appears to be intact and the power supply works, but it needs a new motherboard.

Shady
Shady

I had to buy a new cable modem and router, and I’m using an old laptop which has a few photos from last summer still sitting in the archives.  Normally I would have deleted them once the photos had been uploaded to my PC.  I don’t know why I didn’t delete these.  It’s good I didn’t as it gives me a few images to use until my computer comes home.  I could upload some new ones to the laptop, but it doesn’t seem worth the bother right now.

July2012 037a

What you would see if I did upload new photos are images of how things are beginning to green up around here.  The grass is an almost brilliant shade of green.  The willows are starting to leaf out.  Daffodils are blooming like crazy, but the poor things were trampled by the heavy rains and their little heads are all resting on the ground right now.  I’m hoping they will perk up again soon.

July2012 053a

Well, that’s my story for today.  If lightning had to strike, at least the timing wasn’t all bad.  I managed to get quite a lot accomplished during my short period of no-computer, no-internet time.  I want to thank the folks at Time Warner Cable for being so incredibly helpful.  I know. That’s something you don’t often hear.  But I figure if I’m willing to complain when they’re not helpful, I should be willing to acknowledge it when they are.

July2012 054a

Thank you for stopping by.  I hope all is well in your world.

By the waterfall
By the waterfall

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Enjoying the flowers of summer
Enjoying the flowers of summer
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

24 thoughts on “Lightning Strikes

  1. So glad you’re OK Robin.
    I know what its like when lightening strikes with that sudden crack. I grew up in Africa and sometimes in the middle of the night I’d be woken up by loud cracks of thunder which was so terrifying I race to my parents bed.

    I love these old pictures.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Rosie. 🙂 Those cracks of thunder/lightning are really something. I’ve heard lightning hit close to the house, but that’s the first time I felt like it was in the house.

      Like

  2. gosh, such a shock!! glad everything is ok and normality is being restored, did you use some rescue remedy for yourself? or maybe the soup was all you needed to ground yourself again, those root vegies are marvellous for that 🙂

    Like

  3. Scary stuff – lightning can frighten and fascinate. Glad all is well. Seems a shame to have purchased all the new modem stuff if you won’t be able to use it at the new place. We had a close call with lightning too a few years back. The scortch mark is still on the shed at the back of my yard, and it must have travelled all the way across the yard to an outlet on the house. Our DVD player was fried in the process – I’m just thankful my dogs were not outside when it occured.

    Like

    1. It is that, Karma (both frightening and fascinating). Purchasing the new modem won’t be a complete waste, although I’m not sure about the router. The folks renting our house here in the Bogs will be able to use the router. 🙂

      Like

  4. Thank goodness it was only the computer that the lightning tried to do away with, (it was only the computer, wasn’t it? You didn’t actually say.) Lightning cooked one of my computers about eight years ago and we have had a power surge protector board connected to the computer since, and so far it has worked.

    It’s great to know all is well with you Robin. 🙂

    Like

  5. Nothing like a close encounter with lightning. Glad most everything’s OK. That first picture is a wonder.
    Nothing wrong with revisiting last summer – just gives you promises of the one coming.
    Enjoy the soup – we’ve enjoyed the last of “winter” foods as this last front came across….soon it will be all about staying cool.

    Like

    1. Thank you, PhilosopherMouse. 🙂 I think what I like about revisiting last summer is that I won’t be here in the Bogs to see the summer coming. On the positive side, I’ll have a new summer to get to know.

      Like

  6. Storms both thrill and terrify me…we don’t get ‘big weather’ here, like I grew up with in Oklahoma, but it still sets my nerves tingling when a storm comes through…
    Glad there’s no real damage done!

    Like

    1. Same here, Marie. Having experienced some big weather (including being up close and personal with a tornado), I find I feel as you do — thrilled and terrified at the same time. Thankfully, all is well in the grand scheme of things. 🙂

      Like

  7. I think I just ‘tweeted’ this Robin, I hope so anywho… Why is it, that when I follow the instructions of anything, it just seems to leave me high and dry, wondering if it’s actually done what I asked or if it’s laughing up it’s sleeve.. pffft!! … 😉 Glad to read you’re ok and good that you found the source of the ozone smell, before anything else could happen. Good to that you managed on an older PC, …One can only assume that Mother Natures lightening strike ko’d the surge protector… 1 nil to her methinks. Happy trails …and I enjoyed the look back… xPenx

    Like

    1. I didn’t know you were tweeting, Pen. Thank you! To be honest, I don’t follow my Twitter account enough to know what’s going on. Mother Nature, methinks, always wins. 🙂

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

