Posted in Air, Beginnings, Change, Critters, Earth, Fire, Hiking, Mindfulness, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Pond, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water

Jeepers peepers

Morning in the meadow
Morning in the meadow

While it is relatively easy to recognize the perennial grasses and seed-eating sparrows as characteristic of meadows, the ecosystems exist in their fullest sense underground.  What we see aboveground is only the outer margin of an ecosystem that explodes in intricacy and life below.

~ Amy Seidl, Early Spring:  An Ecologist and Her Children Wake to a Warming World

Spray
Spray

I’ve always had a thing for meadows.  There is so much life residing within the grasses and wildflowers, and the little trees that, from time to time, sprout up among them.

A crowd
A crowd chattering in the wind

There’s something romantic about meadows, too.  I can’t explain it, but perhaps you know what I mean.

Individuals standing tall
Individuals standing tall

Even though everything seems dry and dead in the meadows right now, they are teeming with life.  All sorts of critters live in the meadows, some of them (the sparrows and finches) springing up and flying off whenever I walk by.  (Speaking of finches, I saw one yesterday wearing his summer clothes of yellow.)

Wave
Wave

If you look down in between the dried flowers and grasses, you’ll see all sorts of green sprouting and growing.

The grasses always look so delicate.
The grasses always look so delicate.
Cousin It, sprouting new, green hair.
Cousin It, sprouting new, green hair.

Last night I heard the spring peepers for the first time this season.  That’s a hopeful sign.  Perhaps Old Man Winter has finally moved on.

Opening soon
Opening soon

Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it.

~ Confucius

April 2013 012a

Today’s walk was lovely.  The temperature and wind were brisk, but the presence of the sun alleviated some of the chill.  The weather was part of the loveliness, but my mood played a role as well.  For the first time in a while, all the stress and anxiety of the past few weeks disappeared, and I was able to truly enjoy a leisurely walk around the meadows and the pond.

Mixed messages
Mixed messages

Do you have any big plans for the weekend?  Something fun?  Different?  How about a walk or a hike outdoors?  I’ve been thinking about another group walk, but I’m not sure I’ll have time to do the round-up after we’ve all finished our walks.  Anyone else out there want to volunteer to host a spring version?  If not, perhaps I can throw something together if there’s enough interest.

Following the path
Following the path

I’ll be spending most of the weekend sorting and packing, but do hope to get outside since the weather is supposed to finally be more spring-like.  I have to keep an eye on that hyacinth.  I suspect it’s going to unfurl and open to the sun any minute now.

The
A seed-eating sparrow

Thank you so much for stopping by today, and taking another walk with me.  I’m thinking about going out for a sunset stroll for the sake of enjoying the light.  Sunset is scheduled for 7:55 pm.  We can meet on the deck a few minutes before that, and head down towards the woods where the sun has been setting these days.

Creamy crocuses
Creamy crocuses

Have a delight day, evening, night… wherever and whenever you are on the spectrum of time.  And have a great weekend!

Sunlight illuminating the daffodils in the woods.
Sunlight illuminating the daffodils in the woods.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

23 thoughts on “Jeepers peepers

  1. I’m really enjoying watching the new fresh spring life emerginging all over the bogs right now Robin. Each of the grasses look so different and also very delicate, with each having a different coloured background. Isn’t the light beautiful just now?

    As for those spring peepers, I could wait to see if another non-American asks the question, but I wont….what are they?!! (Please don’t laugh!!) I’m thinking a bird, or insect of some kind, that arrives in spring?

    Like

    1. I won’t laugh, Joanne. I had no idea what they were when I first heard them. They sound like a chorus of aliens from outer space. lol! They’re tiny tree frogs.

      Here’s a video where you can hear them:

      And yes, the light is gorgeous. 🙂

      Like

      1. I would have thought they were birds, from the sound. It seems that they sing around sunset, which is like our cicadas here in summer. They are large insects and their noise can be deafening! Thank you for the video post. 🙂

        Like

  2. i love grasses too, their whispering voices, the hidden life down at ground level …here so much of the native grass is destroyed by mowing that some little creatures lose their homes completely … your grasses look rich and happy robin 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Christine. 🙂 We don’t mow most of our grass/meadows. That’s partly out of laziness (and who has time to mow all that?), but mostly because it’s better all around if we don’t for the land, the animals, and for us.

      Like

  3. Been meaning to mention that I’m so impressed how you always find such brilliant quotes!
    I’ve been enjoying your daily picture of the hyacinth. What a beautiful purple. Did you plant it?

    Like

  4. Hi there Robin, as you say, there’s something about meadows, and grasses especially… they have a fragility and a different kind of beauty all of their own… you could say they speak a different language from lush flowering plants, .. and I’m glad Joanne asked about ‘spring peepers’… so now I know too. 🙂 … many thanks for sharing your gorgeous views through your ‘camera eyes’,… happy trails… xPenx

    Like

  5. Hi Robin. I think the thing I love best about meadows is the ripple that crosses the grasses when the wind blows. Lots of cold wind here today, but I did go for a short walk in the churchyard. Jane

    Like

  6. Love those peepers! I haven’t been back to hear them again since my walk last weekend, but I’m thinking I need another dose, lol. How wonderful it is finally starting to really feel like spring. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the snow is done for both us.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

