Posted in Critters, Digital Art, Earth, Fire, Food, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Pond, Quotes, Recipes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water

What to do with those Easter eggs

Half dozen
Half dozen

Probably one of the most private things in the world is an egg until it is broken.

~ M.F.K. Fisher

Long ago and far away… Well, not really.  It was six years ago and about a seven hour drive from where I currently live.  So let’s start over.  Six years ago when M and I were living in Sabbaticalville (West Chester, PA), I posted a recipe for Red Beet Eggs over at Bountiful Healing.  On Easter Sunday and for a few days after, it is a popular post.  People want to know what to do with all those hard-boiled eggs they dyed and decorated, looking for something beyond the deviled egg.

The beautiful Red Beet Egg
The beautiful Red Beet Egg

The following is a recipe I got from my mother-in-law many years ago.  I like eggs in general, and this recipe is one of my favorites.  Some people call them Pickled Eggs, but M’s family always referred to them as Red Beet Eggs so that is what I call them, too.  You don’t have to like beets to like these eggs (although I’m sure it helps to like eggs).  For most of my life, I did not like beets, but have always liked Red Beet Eggs.  (I do like beets, and beet greens, now.  Yummy!)

Without further ado, here is the recipe:

Jane’s Red Beet Eggs

  • 2 cups cider vinegar
  • 1¼ cups sugar
  • 2 cans (16 oz.) sliced red beets
  • 1 cup water

Mix ingredients and heat until sugar dissolves. Pour over hard boiled eggs (up to a dozen depending on the size of your container) and refrigerate.  I use a glass jar (a pickle jar), and make sure the eggs are thoroughly immersed.  The eggs will want to float so save some beet slices to put on top of them and drive them down.  It’s the immersion that gives them such a lovely color.  Wait a few days to try them.  The longer the eggs are immersed in the pickling solution (I hesitate to call it a brine because there is no salt), the deeper the color.

Flowers for spring
Flowers for spring

Now, here’s the thing.  I don’t use canned beets anymore.  I boil 3-4 fresh beets, peel them, and then slice them into the pickling solution.  That changes one other part of the recipe so here is the revised recipe for those of you using fresh beets:

  • 2 cups cider vinegar
  • 1¼ cups sugar
  • 3-4 fresh beets, cooked, peeled, and sliced
  • ½ cup water

I know.  It’s not a huge difference.  Just a matter of less water.  You won’t need it with the fresh beets.

Ducks at sunset
Ducks at sunset

For those of you celebrating it today, Happy Easter!  I hope it was a joyful day for you.

In the bouquet
In the bouquet

M and I have had a rather quiet, yet busy, Sunday.  Just the two of us here at home.  We did get to talk with (and see ) our granddaughters via Skype.  I am thankful for the marvels of modern technology that allowed us to discuss such important topics as the Easter Bunny and how much fun the girls had at Disney World over their spring break this past week.

Crocuses enjoying yesterday's sunlight
Crocuses enjoying yesterday’s sunlight

It’s a rainy day here in the Bogs.  A good day to take care of indoor things.

March 2013 009a

It’s going to turn cold again, with snow in the forecast for Tuesday.  But by the end of the week, the weather is looking pretty nice.  Perhaps the daffodils will get a chance to bloom this year.

First turtle of the season
First turtle of the season

Yesterday, however, was gorgeous.  Even the turtles thought so.  The one pictured above sluggishly crawled along the bottom of the pond, making his way towards shore where he could sun himself.  He never even noticed me.  Perhaps he’s still sleepy from winter.

Mr. & Mrs. Mallard
Mr. & Mrs. Mallard

Usually the ducks fly away when they see me heading down towards the pond, but this year they seem to have accepted me as part of the scenery.

Will you be blooming soon?
Will you be blooming soon?

That’s about it from the Bogs and from me for today.  Thank you so much for your visits, your comments, and your likes.  I have something exciting to share with you later this week (Thursday or Friday) if all works out as expected.  Stay tuned.

New spring growth
New spring growth

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just be.

Might as well have some more fun with those eggs.
Might as well have some more fun with those eggs.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

25 thoughts on “What to do with those Easter eggs

  1. Hi Robin. Years ago, my Mom made beet-coloured eggs .. I thought they were wonderful. It’s nice to see your crocuses and the turtle. My crocuses are still under a snow bank!!! Happy Easter, Jane

    Like

  2. Absolutely beautiful, Robin. Loved the ducks at sunset; I would love to buy a print of that from you. I dreamed of ducks last night; I set a solo duck free on a journey to join a flock of his kind, one of those singular archetypal dreams. Your images of ducks really speaks to me today.

    Like

  3. I hope the snow leaves you alone – it would be a shame for all that loveliness to be whitened once again. I’m sure the turtle would be disappointed too! Very cute art work on the eggs.
    Looking forward to hearing your exciting news!
    P.S. – what is that widget on your side bar with the blog posts? I just noticed myself over there, lol!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. We had some flurries this morning, but it cleared up and most of the snow has since melted. 🙂 The widget is (wait a moment… I have to go look).. “Posts I Like.” If you click “Like” somewhere, it will show up on this widget if you’re using it.

      Like

    1. I know what you mean, Frank. Last year was a fluke, and I have to keep reminding myself of that. We had a very early spring last year. I think that’s made me impatient for spring this year.

      Like

  4. I enjoyed the walk, Robin, and munching on the eggs too… (Yummy)…. Crocuses are a particular favourite.., the way they seem to be peeking up to the sunshine.. . I look forward to the surprise … and shall be back forthwith… Happy trails my friend. xPenx

    Like

  5. I always loved those red eggs! We don’t get tinned beetroot here but we do have fresh beets, just not yet! I think I will try this when our home grown beets come through. 🙂

    Interesting you are writing about your MIL – I was thinking about her as I wrote my latest post. (Or maybe I am confusing her with step-mother?)

    Like

    1. Oh good! I hope you like them, Rabbit. 🙂

      You are correct. It was my MIL. I know you’re going through something similar. It’s tough, and very sad. *Hugs*

      Like

  6. Oh no, I didn’t make the Red Beet Eggs this Easter! I tried them last year and I really enjoyed them myself, but my family were a tad wary (no sense of adventure!) I should just make half a dozen for myself. I’ll use the fresh beetroot though, love it, but just one question…do you pour the vinegar mix over the eggs while the water is still hot, or is it best to leave it to cool off a bit first? I remember wondering about this last year. By the way, I did make Simnel Cake this year for the first time. It’s a traditional Easter cake and very citrusey. 🙂

    Like

    1. I’ve never heard of a Simnel Cake, Joanne. Sounds delicious! I love anything citrusey. 🙂

      You don’t have to get the vinegar mix very hot. Just warm enough to dissolve the sugar. That way you can just pour it over the eggs and beets. If it’s hot, I’d let it cool a bit first, although I’m not really sure it makes a difference.

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

