Posted in Air, Beginnings, Change, Critters, Earth, Fire, Meditation, Mindfulness, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Pond, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water

An evening walk

Clearing
Clearing

Inhale and hold the evening in your lungs.

~ Sebastian Faulks

Yesterday evening the clouds gradually cleared and the sun came out for a couple of hours before it submerged itself in the woods.  The sunset was pink with a little purple thrown in for good measure.  A Great Blue Heron came to fish for his dinner while the geese and ducks drifted on the surface part of the pond that wasn’t iced over.  A red-winged blackbird called and called.  A crow answered, a hawk whistled, and a kingfisher chattered.

Clouds drifting
Clouds drifting

The moon looked as though someone had pasted it to the sky, forgetting a small piece of it.  Every now and then the ducks would leave the water and pace on the ice.

Male mallard
Mr. Mallard
Mrs. Mallard
Mrs. Mallard

What a nice night for an evening.

~ Steven Wright

She can't decide which way she wants to go.
She can’t decide which way she wants to go.

Once the sun appeared, it didn’t take long for the snow to melt and the icicles to fall to the ground.

Pause and look
Pause and look

Reason, I sacrifice you to the evening breeze.

~ Aime Cesaire

Evening meditation
Some enchanted evening

The air was cool, but not the bitter cold it has been.  The sun was warming from head to toe and back up again.

Just being
Just being

The world reflects what you need to see, not only what you want to see.

~ Stephen C. Paul

The gathering
The gathering

What a wonderful thing this was, taking a walk in the evening, seeing the moon overhead as the sun was leaving for the day.  I’m so used to morning, sometimes afternoon, walks that I’d forgotten how beautiful the evening can be.

Evening light
Evening light

The energy is different in the evening.  Mornings are invigorating and awakening.  Evenings are mellow, relaxing, a preparation for sleep.

Mellow meadow
Mellow meadow

Carefully observe the natural laws in operation in the world around you, and live by them.  From following them, you will learn the morality of modesty, moderation, compassion, and consideration (not just one society’s rules and regulations), the wisdom of seeing things as they are (not of merely collecting “facts” about them), and the happiness of being in harmony with the Way (which has nothing to do with self-righteous “spiritual” obsessions and fanaticism).  And you will live lightly, spontaneously, and effortlessly.

~ Benjamin Hoff

The sun lives here too
The sun lives here too

Thank you for visiting and for joining me on an evening walk around the pond and the meadows.  It was good to see the sun again, to see light against the shadows.

The evening deepens
The evening deepens

I suspect we are all recipients of cosmic love notes.  Messages, omens, voices, cries, revelations, and appeals are homogenized into each day’s events.  If only we knew how to listen, to read the signs.

~ Sam Keen

March 2013 010a-001

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just be.  🙂

P.S.  I know I wrote that I’d see you next week, implying I wouldn’t be posting over the weekend.  That was the plan, but I changed my mind.  It occurred to me that I will be taking a short break next month, and a longer break in May (lots of traveling coming up and I know there will be a period of time I won’t have an internet connection, and even when I do, I’ll be too busy).  I might as well post while the muse strikes and while I can.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

27 thoughts on “An evening walk

  1. An evening walk, how lovely. It has been a VERY long time since I’ve had the inclination to do that. Even with a peek of sun, I’m sure it would still be far too chilly outside for me, but then again, you are far more intrepid than I when it comes to cold weather walks! Thanks for the beauty and MAYBE the inspiration to get outside today.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. 🙂 Did you get outside? We have snow coming again tonight so I may not feel so inclined tomorrow. (I’ll go anyway. I always do since that year-long challenge. But I’ll probably have to force myself to do it.)

      Like

  2. So lovely to be out and about with you Robin, and see everything through your eyes and photo’s… I feel as if I have experienced every aspect … e’en the birds chattering and calling… We’re still carpeted by Springs snowy mantle, so I shall just prepare a white circular projectile and throw it your way… “”Duck”” … 😉 xPenx

    Like

    1. LOL, Pen! You got me! I won’t have snow to throw back at you until tomorrow. I’ll be sure to drop by when there’s enough to gather into a snowball. 😉

      Like

  3. Hi Robin,
    Here, by Frank. And I’m so glad for his post pointing the way. Gorgeous photos, ‘rich’. And loving the accompanying quotes. Congratulations on your new beginnings. Rumi, love Him.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

